Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-12-2009, 10:14 PM   #1
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Cologne cathedral

Well, after few tries with various projects, i have decided to start this one and will focus only on it.

Well, not much to show yet, but here's a couple of shots:







Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 27-12-2009 at 10:19 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2009, 11:07 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

looks like a lot of detail!

care to show a wireframe shot?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2009, 11:15 PM   #3
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Sure:
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:19 AM   #4
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

a small progress (lighting is not exactly good, so you may not notice all the details):




Also, Polycount will be insane, i was worried mostly about memory, but with bsp2+MR proxy+instances, it seems to be rether gentle on ram usage so far.

Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 03-01-2010 at 12:26 AM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 08:26 PM   #5
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Some more progress:




A bit more work and i'll call this part done for now.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 10:58 PM   #6
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

realy looking nice, how long have you spent on this project...................dave
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 10:59 PM   #7
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

dude that looks really awesome!
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 11:38 PM   #8
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

maybe a week, but not full days, because i played a lot with what exctly to use, MR proxy, or istance, or to use many small proxies, or few big ones....
Problem was, that there is gonna be 34 instances if this model. And since this one piece has 200k tris, that would be a lot.
So, it seems the best is to use low poly model of that, and apply proxy to it, and that duplicate instance of this low poly.
Result is, i teste over 2 milion polys, and it renders quite fast, while not using all that much memory.

tnx for comments!
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 01:07 AM   #9
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Minor update:


Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 06:09 PM   #10
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

a very minor progress:


Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 10-01-2010 at 06:17 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 06:15 PM   #11
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Do you mind if i ask, what your system specs are?
and, how does maya respond in the view ports when you have 2 mil poly's on a scene as you stated?.
sluggish? or still pans and rotates smothly?

The model is looking great. Keep up the nice work
G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 06:23 PM   #12
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

system:
intel i7 920
geforce 275 gtx
6 gb ram
---

Well, thing is, in veiwport, i have like 100k triangles, so it runs smooth as it can get, though i have like 1/2 of model hidden (so i'd say total scene size is like 250k triangles).

What i am doing is, to make high poly model (what of those pillars have 200k+ polys), and then low poly, that still has like 10k polys. I then use mental ray proxy, so that in viewport, you see this low poly version, to avoid unnecesarry memory usage, and when i render it, mental ray replaced low poly with high poly. this way, viewport runs quit smooth, and render times are a bit faster.

So, in short, in viewport, i actually have 200k tris or less (depends how much that low poly has - it can be just cube as well, but i prefer to have model that is very similar to high poly), however, MR actually does render 2 milion polys (or so).

Also, i made only one MR proxy pillar, and then duplicate instance. This way, atlest from what i see, is best to achiv faster rendering time and reduce memory usage (together with proxy), while viewport runs quite smooth.


tnx for comment!

Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 10-01-2010 at 06:27 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 06:43 PM   #13
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Indeed.. A good way to deal with the view port lag caused by high poly models.
Makes a lot more sense now, i was at first thinking you were viewing 2mil ploys in the view port. .....i was going to offer to pay you handsomly for a rig that woudl run maya with that many polys in view port and pan and tumble smothly, more or less not crash..LoL
Thank you for the input
G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 06:56 PM   #14
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

well, if you only have models in viewport, that is not such a problem, atleast on my rig, i can rotate camera without too much slowdown, but when it comes to actually working with 2 milion poly mesh, now that's a whole difrent story.
This model is very good because you can devide it in segments, and once that is done, you can load very low poly mesh instead of it in viewport, as it's not needed anymore, so viewport runs nicely.

If you still want to make corrections on that model, you can still edit it and again export mr proxy file, and maya will update all low poly meshes, that uses it.

This is first time i'm using it, but it does seems to work great so far.

tnx for your comment!
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2010, 06:13 PM   #15
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

A small progress(finally got some time to proceed on this one:
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.