Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-12-2009, 04:13 PM   #1
akonron
Registered User
 
akonron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can not select vertices or faces!

Every time i try selecting anything but objects, Maya won't react. I have been using Maya on this computer before, but this problem has never occurred. sometimes, when I try to select a vertex, the screen flash and sometimes it even crashes.

Have any of you had this problem, or do you know how to deal with it?


Best regards

Akonron
akonron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2009, 06:20 AM   #2
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

You might want to rename your maya folder (on a pc this is in your documents folder not sure where it is on a mac) this will force maya to reset your preferences to the defaults.

Sometimes this fixes problems like you are describing.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 05:24 PM   #3
akonron
Registered User
 
akonron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy

No, it didn't work. Have you got any other ideas?
akonron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 07:04 PM   #4
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

I have seen one other case with this behavior but I doubt it is causing your problem.

I frequently use "select with constraints" to determine if I have n-gons, non-planar, non-manifold geometry.

I just as frequently forget to uncheck the thing I am trying to select for then invariably scratch my head for 15 minutes before I realize I have select only non-planar or something checked and maya refuses to select anything.

But as you are clearly leaving and restarting maya any select with constraint options would be reset.

I am still thinking about it though and if anything comes to mind I will post it.

Have you changed any hardware, gfx drivers, gfx cards, in particular? I hate to fall back to the old "Have you reinstalled maya?" recommendation but...
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 03-01-2010 at 07:06 PM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keep faces on Sircharles Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 07-12-2010 01:20 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.