Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-01-2010, 12:49 PM   #1
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default Simply Avatar: Tweetytunes

OK Im in - but after I reinstall windows as its buggy as hell right now. (Some point 2day)

Im sorry after seeing this film 4 times I have to take part.
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 01:58 PM   #2
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Good boy!!
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 12:33 PM   #3
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Right got everything installed and running win7 now and impressed with the score I got with this old rig (5.9 on a old graphic card - a real shock).

Anyway going to do my GF Charlotte - got quite abit of work to make the male head look like her.

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/Char_Ref.jpg
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 01:11 PM   #4
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

OK what the hell - set up the image plain and now for no reason I cant change the alpha gain making the image plain useless what the hell is going on.

Edit - before any says just use plains - I hae tired and cant work that way - it s poop. You have to have the texture showing which means the head is visable and if you turn on xray mode the plain also goes into xray mode.

Google is also no help on the matter

Errr I just want my image plains working again - how do you sort this out - why would the alpha gain stop working
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,

Last edited by tweetytunes : 09-01-2010 at 01:55 PM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 03:16 PM   #5
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Hi there
You could add a shader and turn the transparancey up......dave
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 05:31 PM   #6
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

They look quite hi res mate, maybe down res an then try again, sometimes res has an adverse affect on the image planes

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 07:12 PM   #7
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

I have tried many differant res and file types and none are working. I think its a driver issue for window 7 but there does not seem to be any fixs for my card on the net yet.

Its a shame as Maya (apart from this little problem) and some games have all performed better than normal as windows seems to be using some hard drive space to boost the GC.

Anyway here is a little update

Started by making the head look like my GF then started to add the avatar details - might restart the ear as this is still the ear that came with it.

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/1_1.jpg

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/1_2.jpg
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,

Last edited by tweetytunes : 09-01-2010 at 07:33 PM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 03:04 AM   #8
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Very impressive work tweetytunes, and really fast progress!
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 03:11 AM   #9
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Well sick of the blue already so switched that back to grey. Right got alot done but when its all togeather it does not look like much so I spread them out

1. Head - slightly reworked - keep the ears for now
2. Ear hoops have been made and the ear tweaked to fit them
3. Teeth and tounge - with fangs
4. Neckless - at the moment its the shape of the neck - will change that at later date
5. Started the braided hair. _ I have 4 different types of braid but was not going to capture them all - you get the idea.

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/1_3.jpg

At the stage where I am starting the hair placements - I am thinking this might take awhile. Going for the braided hair for a number of reasons - 1st up untill about 4 months ago my girlfriend had braided hair - 2 It will look cooler with hair than not - 3 Its easyer than real hair (Although I have just reinstalled Shave and hair cut.

Can anyone remeamber what the comms deviceices looked like or has any one seen a ref pic of them as I cant for the life of me rember what they looked like but know they had them.
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 02:04 PM   #10
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Not sure if this is what you need.......dave
http://www.flickr.com/photos/officia...82718/sizes/o/
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 02:13 PM   #11
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

thanks - I thought it was in the ear but around the neck makes more sence. cheers
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 03:38 PM   #12
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

i think the pinching around the cheeks looks really odd.

do you have a pic without the wireframe?

...also this one looks like a bluetooth ear piece.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/officia...27001/sizes/o/
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 05:55 PM   #13
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Tweety, coul dyou post a screen / render of it without the wire shown?
I feel like there is a bit of...i don't know how to describe it but...'curded cheese' to the cheek area, but i cant tell for sure with the wires on it.

G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 06:17 PM   #14
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

haha i think i posted the same thing as you.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2010, 09:50 PM   #15
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Yer - I messed the cheeks right up - tweaked them. Main update for today is the rear of the hair. Each one was rigged with a simple bone system - then move in to place one by one. Has taken way too long but I am very happy with the results.

wire frame and plain screen grab

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/2_2.jpg

Simple renders

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/2_1.jpg


As for the front I am not quite sure yet - more breads or a bandanna. The beads are missing at the mo, just because I forgot to add them to the rig and only noticed doing the last few.
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,

Last edited by tweetytunes : 17-01-2010 at 09:54 PM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.