Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-02-2010, 10:00 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hidden controls

In my quest to learn more about Maya I have been downloading different files and rigs to see how they were constructed. I have downloaded a couple of files where anytime you select the move tool or rotate tool all or some of the controls are disabled. My question is where is it that you do this in Maya. I have looked all over in the attributes but have come up short. Please point me in the correct direction. Thanks in advance.

roontoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 10:45 PM   #2
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts

I'm assuming that you mean that some of the translate or rotate channels are unable to be changed? You do this in the channel box, right click on them and select "lock and hide selected". This will lock those channels (can't change them) and hide them from the channel box so they don't clutter things up.

If you're talking about something different, post a screenshot and indicate the area that you're wondering about.

Edit: If you want to get deeper into that, there is a dedicated window in maya. Windows > General Editors > Channel Control (I think it's called something like that). This will display all the channels that are locked, un-locked, hidden, visible, keyable and non-keyable. You can change things here, e.g. getting a hidden channel visible in the channel box again. Hope that helps.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 10:45 PM   #3
Monkey Wrench
Registered User
Monkey Wrench's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

hey Roontoon,

I know of a way that can limit what objects move,rotate,and scale. There's probably an easier way but I don't know it. So Lets say you want to lock an object so that it can't be moved. If you select the box, open the attribute editor, then up at the top where the tabs are (pCube1, pCubeShape1, etc) click on the pCube1, then open the tab that says Limit information, and from there you can set the minimun and maximum translate, rotate, scale limits. Set the same number for the min. and max. in order for it to not move at all.

Another way is to move the objects you want locked into a separate layer and click the middle box until it says R.

Hope this helps!

Edit: posted at the same time! lol and I knew there was an easier way!
Monkey Wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 04:31 AM   #4
Chirone's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts

i would think that if those controls are disabled then it's for a reason. i think when you rig something you're meant to lock awaythe controls and all sorts if stuff so that you limit the things that can be done with the rig. it makes it so that you can't start moving things around that something else controls or is dependant on and would make the rig less fragile to accidental movements that will make things go wonky and crazy

so more than likely whatever you have is probably controlled by something else, maybe it's locked (attribute will be grey) or controlled by expressions (attribute will be purple) orange i think means it's got a keyframe somewhere on it and yellow means it's controlled by set driven keys and blue means it's constrained (i think i got all the colours right, i might be making something up)

if it's controlled by expressions then you can look at the expression from the expression editor,
if it's controled by constraints you can see those in the channel box or in the hypergraph
same with set driven keys (in the hypergraph)
i think...

you can also limit scale, translate and rotate of an object in the attribute editor

if what you have is in an asset then all the controls the rigger intended you to have are in the asset container (unless they missed stuff out by accident)

that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 01:17 AM   #5
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

You guys rock!! Thanks. The channel box is now very much more familiar to me. :headbang:

roontoon is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.