Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-03-2010, 02:40 PM   #1
Aurorap
Registered User
 
Aurorap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 75
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default Mudbox to Maya textures

Hey guys, I have a problem.
Whenever I import a maya 2010 model using FBX
into mudbox the paint tools in mudbox mess up the texture.
There's black spots that wont paint and paint that multiplies in different areas, for example you paint on the head and the tail also gets painted.
Basically if I make a texture in mudbox and import it into maya, when I render it with mental ray theres a random square with no texture.
Could anyone tell me what i'm doing wrong? I'd be really greatfull.
Thanks guys.
Aurorap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 05:24 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Have you laid out the UVs?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 09:19 PM   #3
Aurorap
Registered User
 
Aurorap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 75
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

i'm not aware of any procedure i have to do dealing with FBX format, I just kind figured it would lay out in maya like it did in mudbox.
Aurorap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 09:36 PM   #4
Aurorap
Registered User
 
Aurorap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 75
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

what I mean is, can you tell me what I have to do? How do I lay out the UVs?
Aurorap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 09:57 PM   #5
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Hi Aurorap
I dont know mudbox but what I think stwert means have you exported UV from maya to mudbox, here is a good tutorial to understand uv mapping.......dave
Edit: this helped me understand uvs better than any other tutorial I have seen
http://cg.tutsplus.com/tutorials/3d-...-in-maya-2009/

Last edited by daverave : 04-03-2010 at 10:15 PM.
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 06:32 AM   #6
Aurorap
Registered User
 
Aurorap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 75
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

thanks alot dave!
Aurorap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.