Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


Go Back   Simply Maya User Community - Maya Tutorials > Lounges > Members Lounge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-03-2010, 03:36 PM   #1
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default nVidia's new series is ready, and ATI must be nervous ;D

Well, seems like your time is up, little miss ATI fanboy...

EVGA, two days ago, announced their superclocked and FTW edition GTX 480 and GTX 470.

I haven't seen any benchmarks or comparisons yet, but the specifications are as follows

GTX 480 Superclocked (SC) - MSRP: $529.99 USD

http://www.evga.com/products/moreInf...eries%20Family

Performance

NVIDIA GTX 480
725 MHz GPU
480 Processing Cores
400 MHz RAMDAC


Memory

1536 MB, 384 bit
3800 MHz (effective)
182.4 GB/s Memory Bandwidth


Interface

PCI-E 2.0 16x
DVI-I, DVI-I, Mini-HDMI
SLI Capable


Resolution & Refresh

240Hz Max Refresh Rate
2048x1536 Max Analog
2560x1600 Max Digital




GTX 470 SC - MSRP: $369.99 USD

http://www.evga.com/products/moreInf...eries%20Family

Performance

NVIDIA GTX 470
625 MHz GPU
448 Processing Cores
400 MHz RAMDAC


Memory

1280 MB, 320 bit
3402 MHz (effective)
136 GB/s Memory Bandwidth


Interface

PCI-E 2.0 16x
DVI-I, DVI-I, Mini-HDMI
SLI Capable


Resolution & Refresh

240Hz Max Refresh Rate
2048x1536 Max Analog
2560x1600 Max Digital


---------------------------You can look up the FTW editions yourself, in the link provided at the end of this post--------------

And ATI's current best card's specs

ASUS HD 5970

(couldn't find a proper spec sheet like the above)

Core clock - 725 MHZ
Memory clock - 1000 MHZ
Memory amount - 2 GB

This page has a comparison between a 5970 and a new ASUS "Republic Of Gamers 5970 Ares card that is in production

http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f62/as...-specs-226406/

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As you can see, nVidia came late in the game, but once again, came you with guns blaring. The new series blows ATI out of the ****ing water and I know I'm not the only one that can't bloody wait for the benchmarks...

The price isn't too high this time either, as it has been in the past, another major step up for nVidia... Now let's hope they get their driver issues all sorted for once >_>



EVGA graphics product page, where you can find all specifications of the 400 series is located here

http://www.evga.com/products/prodlis...+Series+Family

nVidia page with all info on GTX 400 architecture and the new GF-100 chipset (that stands for "Graphics Fermi" NOT "GeForce")

http://www.nvidia.com/object/GTX_400_architecture.html
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2010, 03:46 PM   #2
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

My new pc has a ati card and Im bloody hating it - when I get the money I think I`ll be getting one of those
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2010, 03:53 PM   #3
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

Haha, what type of problems are you having with it? and what card do you have?
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2010, 06:26 PM   #4
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tweetytunes
My new pc has a ati card and Im bloody hating it - when I get the money I think I`ll be getting one of those
haha, yeah, me too. I built a pretty sweet rig recently, but didn't have enough to get a graphics card (yet).. so i'm stuck with the horrible on-board ATI graphics :hug:
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2010, 01:32 AM   #5
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,994
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Yeah I learned a long time ago that ATI and NVIDIA are constantly leap frogging each other in performance but ATI drivers are always flaky.

I had a friends machine that I used to maintain and the darn thing was constantly locking up. I finally tracked it down to the ati ALL-IN-WONDER card which I renamed the ALL-IN-BLUNDER card and we placed it in the middle of a busy street and were pleased to see it get run over several times!

This was years ago but I have never even considered using an ATI card since then.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 29-03-2010 at 03:37 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2010, 09:09 AM   #6
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Oh thank god its not on board

Its a ATI Radeon HD 5400 (1 gig mem), but I find it really struggles with having Maya and photoshop open (as well as win7 (64) of course). ALiens vs predator just keeps crashing out at random parts (thank god I have this on the xbox360) but Boarderlands runs quite well.

The high quality setting in Maya is not as good as my old PCI Nvidia from 2004, but at least I can now run the free copy of Mudbox2009 I got from 3Dec in 2008.

It just a bunch of little thing that add up to alot which makes me want to go back to Nvidia.

My laptop is also ATI which I got in 2005 and there has never been a driver update for it - shocking
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2010, 01:09 PM   #7
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tweetytunes
Oh thank god its not on board

Its a ATI Radeon HD 5400 (1 gig mem), but I find it really struggles with having Maya and photoshop open (as well as win7 (64) of course).
hmm, that's odd. I get display issues in Maya, but I can have several copies of Maya running, and Photoshop. I'm also running 64 bit win 7
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2010, 11:10 AM   #8
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

ever since nvidia releasd the 8series cards i was permanently converted to them but the price tags r abi t crazy also nvidia cards r power hungry so everytime i upgrade my card meant new psu
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2010, 04:02 PM   #9
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,994
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Can't argue with you there. I have taken to putting 1200 watt modular PSU's in all my systems now. I got tired of constantly running on the edge of having enough power. I must have a stack of 600-800 watt PSU's in my closet.

I am getting a little concerned that the new high end 480 ftw is water cooled. I have been avoiding going with water cooling. I really do not like the idea of water and water pumps and water reservoirs and plumbing tubbing to have to worry about.

I would also wait for at the 2GB versions to come out. I bought the 285 ftw 1GB and did not even get the thing out of the box before they went and announce the 285 ftw 2GB version for almost the same price! Fortunately, I was able to return them and upgrade to the 2gb versions.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2010, 11:06 PM   #10
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

^Lol, that's how it is with any hardware, by the time you get it home, the next, twice as powerful version, is on the shelves :p
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2010, 07:42 AM   #11
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

that's how it is with any hardware, by the time you get it home, the next, twice as powerful version, is on the shelves
true true i still have the 8800gtx on my pc and i can still play games at 40+ frame rates(except crysis) on my rig so i think it will be a couple of more years before i get another card
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 06:32 PM   #12
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

just read this im abit disapointed
http://www.techspot.com/review/263-n...80/page14.html
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:10 PM   #13
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

D:

But the numbers are so impressive

Oh well, I know if I ever get one I'll be overclocking the hell out of it anyways :p
__________________

Last edited by Acid44 : 02-04-2010 at 10:02 PM.
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:10 PM   #14
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,994
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Originally posted by murambi
just read this im abit disapointed
http://www.techspot.com/review/263-n...80/page14.html
But once again with NVIDIA vs ATI you have to consider more then price and made up performance numbers.

ATI drivers are, I am sorry to say, crap!

So what good is it of the card is .2% faster and 2% cheaper if the thing is constantly crashing or behaving badly?

I prefer NVIDIA because they, at least for me, have been rock solid stable.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 10:01 PM   #15
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

Originally posted by ctbram
ATI drivers are, I am sorry to say, crap!

So what good is it of the card is .2% faster and 2% cheaper if the thing is constantly crashing or behaving badly?

I prefer NVIDIA because they, at least for me, have been rock solid stable.
Quote for truth. I'm pretty literally, the anti-ATI (like anti-Christ, but for ATI)

Never had a problem with nVidia drivers, ATI have always been wonky for me...
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.