Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-04-2010, 12:08 AM   #1
dubmatthew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Paint Skin Weights Tool question...

Hey anyone,
I have my rigging set up on my model and have skin binded the two, and now i am trying to use the paint skin weights tool, but when i click on the model and then on the tool, the model doesn’t turn black like it’s supposed to, which makes me think something is wrong. It is a large model, but I don’t know if that has anything to do with it. Does anyone know anything about this? Thanks.
dubmatthew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2010, 10:25 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

try playing with the 4 5 6 and 7 keys

sometimes that helps
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2010, 02:49 AM   #3
Ataraxy
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 258
Thanks: 2
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Out of curiosity did you rig first or are you binding first?

working on binding and rigging atm myself.


Deselect everything.

Select the mesh u wish to paint

Select Paint weight tool

Ctrl-A a few times till the tool box comes up

or

Tool Settings on the top right.

And yes, make sure your model is shaded.


Please add more info if i left anything out
Ataraxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 04:59 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.