Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-05-2010, 09:37 PM   #1
Mayastatic
Subscriber
 
Mayastatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default transparency problems

hey guys, hope everything fine!

My problem is that I have a scene where trees are made from 2d sprites which are with an alpha masked out.

I had maya 8.5 and it still works fine with MR. Now I have Maya 2009 and it dosn´t work anyway. Why??

The sprites are now complete visible, nothing is cut out and I tryed to shange to a mia material and use the cut out opacity option, but nothing happens.

I tryed to change the file format: targa, jpeg, tiff, png, bmp ... nohthing works!!

Its a school work and I have to finish this week, can you help me please to solve this problem.

I think it could be probably a bug...


below you see a render with maya 8.5 and the trees are fine cut out, when I render in 2009 the white square around the trees is visible too..
Attached Thumbnails
 
Mayastatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2010, 03:08 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

there was some changes made in how mr looks at alpha in Maya. To get the old style transparency back just go to windows > settings/preferences > preferences. from the rendering category turn on the "Use Maya-style alpha detection on file textures"
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2010, 06:04 PM   #3
Mayastatic
Subscriber
 
Mayastatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you very much!:attn:

I finished the projekt with 8.5, because of my timetable.


But why are the things sometimes so complicated???

Thats the reason why so many people work with cinema and e.d.

With maya you have always problems with changes and things you will never know if there is somebody who can help you.... that makes me angry...:headbang:

But thank you very much vor fixing!!! That works well...
Mayastatic is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.