Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-05-2010, 12:01 AM   #1
Frontliner
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question White environment gives bright objects

Hey!
When using white environment with objects (only uv and textures made using zbrush) and render out with just mental ray gives me very bright objects!

It can be fixed with not using raytracing at all but I want to have it on and still have the objects looking the way the suppose to do...how can I achieve this ?
__________________
eyecubeart3d
Frontliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 11:39 AM   #2
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

First of all put new shaders on the models. If you are bringing them straight from Zbrush the shaders are defaulted phongs (if I remember rightly) Use blinns for now. Chances are this is the problem.

Secondly it sounds like you have final gather turned on in Mental ray. this is what it does. its basically like rendering GI, infact its another form of GI whateverthe value of the background will essentially affect the scene. So you can turn it off and use mental rays standard renderer which is like mayas own. Just use lights instead

or You can turn the color in the environment tab in the Attribute editor for the scene to a more grey color then render it out. If its only a still then make sure you have an alpha channel then you can simply recomp it in Photoshop on a white back drop.

hope some of these help you.

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.