Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-05-2010, 10:15 PM   #16
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Im crushed stwert!!! bahahah no worries mate!!! as long as the problem can be sorted man, I know what its like trying to figure stuff out. Try doing a 4000 point pickup (map) of street scapes and downloading the RAW data and finding after 6 days there is a 30m vertical jump in half of it!!!! 6 days of walking through streets and bush and no one knows why!

Or doing a 265 point pickup walking across sand dunes and downloading the RAW data and 70% of it is in one spot!!! Even the GPS data hasnt moved BUT the pointer was moving on the screen as you were walking!!! $10 000 dollars of PDA and software and NO ONE from Carlson knows why!

bahahahah gster, nothing wrong with XP.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 01-06-2010, 02:58 AM   #17
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

swert, Sleep timer running out at end of a frame wouldn't cause hibernation or sleep either one, Has to be idle for x number of minutes before sleep overtakes the computer, Kinda like us, we have to be sitting still and relaxed for certain amount of time, same principle.

far as a brown out, its possible, if your house didn't lose power but wasn't getting the full amount power, it would cause something similar to running a computer that Has a PSU that's in adequate and would run un stable ( Theoretically.

G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to G-Man For This Useful Post:
Old 31-01-2014, 02:56 PM   #18
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

So I had a funny (and frustrating) encounter today. Set up my first overnight render on my work computer last night and came in this morning to see it had gone to sleep and paused my render just 15 minutes after I started it (and my "go to sleep" settings are set to 15 min), but this should not happen because the computer is not inactive.

I thought to myself, this has never happened to me before, and proceeded to do some searching online. Sure enough, I find this thread from 4 years ago where I complain about the exact same thing. Facepalm. It hasn't happened that I'm aware of in the intermediate 4 years, so I don't know if I fixed something or it was a random occurance.

I did a little test on the current render, letting it go to sleep. This time it took 30 minutes, but the computer went to sleep, pausing the render (but not killing it).
Windows 7 x64.

Anyone else had this happen at some point?

Hibernate is disabled and it still does this, by the way.

Last edited by stwert : 31-01-2014 at 03:19 PM.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
Old 31-01-2014, 09:08 PM   #19
MrYeti
Lifetime Member
 
MrYeti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Down Under
Posts: 238
Thanks: 15
Thanked 48 Times in 41 Posts
Default

Hi Stwert, Yeah, I've had this happen too. It can cause problems with major downloading from the web as well if it goes to sleep in the middle of it.

I'm using windows 7x64 as well and the way to get round the problem is before you do an overnight render go to Control Panel > Power Options and on the left hand side pick Change When the Computer Sleeps in there you can set your sleep and display settings to never and it should fix the problem.
__________________
Cheers, the Yeti.
MrYeti is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MrYeti For This Useful Post:
stwert (31-01-2014)
Old 31-01-2014, 09:10 PM   #20
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Yeah, that's what I've done, but it seems like a poor workaround. It shouldn't be sleeping in the first place, and ideally it would go to sleep once it's done rendering.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
Old 31-01-2014, 09:30 PM   #21
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

I have had this happen on windows 7 before.
Really annoying when your'e hyped up to see what you've left rendering all night.
I changed the same setting as mr.yeti says, and never had the problem since.
Was very odd as you assume your computer wouldn't confuse processing a heavy render as being 'idle'.
__________________


CGI Artist - Data Model Specialist
Essex
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben hobden For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
apache WIP andrew_sorensen Work In Progress 9 23-12-2010 10:22 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.