Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-06-2010, 07:58 PM   #1
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default Hotbox workflow

Recently I've been trying to be more efficient with my workflow, so I've been forcing myself to use the hotbox as much as possible. Thought I'd share my experience and I welcome comments and thoughts.

First I turn everything off. Ctrl + Space. Ctrl + M, Shift + M, Ctrl + Shift + M
To access the hotbox, press and hold space. Turn on all menu sets (hotbox options, show all). For some reason this doesn't get saved, does anyone know how to keep it this way for every new scene and project?

So yes, the hotbox has menus for all sets as well as the panel menus, so you can turn those off too.

It takes a bit longer for me to find the right menu/tool/command, but I will get faster, to the point where it will be quicker than moving my mouse to the top of the screen for shelf icons or menu items.

Click on the very centre of the hotbox to switch between ortho and persp views. Also, the north side of the hotbox contains panel layouts (I think), the east has different editors and windows, the south has something that I don't remember, and the west has masks (I have yet to figure out how to use these properly).

I do need to turn on the help line, the command line, and the status line at this point (the status line for the component and object masks, as I said, the west side of the hotbox doesn't have all the masks, or I'm not using them properly).

One of the greatest things about the hotbox I've found, is the recent commands menu. Of course there is 'g' and 'y' for most recent command and tool, respectivly, but all too often you do something, do a second thing, then want to do the first thing again. Easy - peasy. Space > Recent commands > list of last 10-20 commands and tools. Love it.

In the render window, you'll notice that those menus have gone too, and the hotbox doesn't work there. No prob, RMB and voila - the menus.

I have a feeling this will drastically speed up my work as I get to know the hotbox, regardless of the module I'm working in. I'm also using marking menus more and more (for modelling, UVing etc). Just keep mashing RMB anywhere with various combos of Ctrl, Shift, and there's almost limitless goodies to find.

Disclaimer: don't have maya here, these are educated guesses on the shortcuts and commands.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2010, 10:34 PM   #2
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Good info, thx stwert
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 11:27 AM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

theres something about this thread that makes me happy
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:10 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

??? Can you elaborate on that? :p
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 01:48 AM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i would like to but no... i can't, it's physically impossible
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 09:10 PM   #6
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 478
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

also you can shift + right click and it will bring up options depending on what your doing...for instance, if im in face mode and want to extrude a face shift right click and it will bring up a hotbox that gives you a few different options...i use it alot for extruding and merging verts
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 09:12 PM   #7
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Yep, I use Shift RMB a ton for UV layout too. Move and Sew, Cut while in Edge mode, and Relax etc while in UV mode.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 09:13 PM   #8
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 478
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

havnt tried it while doing UV's yet...didnt even think about it lol
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2010, 02:45 AM   #9
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

I hardly use the shelves...I use the hotbox all the time for modelling...Im with Oz..didnt even think of it for UV's!!! Well put stwert......I think in the Gnomon Introduction to Maya he actually goes through the hotbox etc...thats where I started using it from. Im not proficient at it totally...sometimes you forget and use the shelf or menus.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.