Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-07-2010, 06:05 PM   #1
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default new laptop

my old one burned out
My video card just burn ...

So i'm planning to buy

HP 6830s

Pentium Dual Core(2.2GHz,800MHz,)

3GB (2+1GB (DDR2-800 MHz)

320GB SATA (5400rpm)

17"

1440 x 900

BrightView

512MB ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 3470

DVD Super Multi drive DL

Wireless 802.11a/b/g/N, Bluetooth


battery : 3 h


It is second hand and it's about 400$...

I don't have any money than those 400$ so is this a good choice or not... I never used ATI ...

Advices ?
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:26 PM   #2
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

hey im guessing you still have your old monitor so i would suggest you get a cheap ati 100 dollar graphics carsd ati radeon hd 4830. get the e2180 processor for 50 dollars(stock speed is 2.0 but can be overclocked to 3.0 with the original fan) and the rest can be spent on motherboard and ram laptops are nothing but a waste of money
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:58 PM   #3
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

I need laptop coz i travel alot from the place i study in the uni to my hometown... so i need laptop for sure...

Give some suggestions... ?
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 09:26 PM   #4
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

for that amount a good laptop that can handle maya is very hard to find let me do some more research ill let you know
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 10:16 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Ive got a Dell M6500 (probably the best laptop available for Maya on the move), I used to have a XPS and that ran Maya no probs, not too sure of the second hand price though.

That looks pretty good, though don't expect it to be amazing, it should do the job but may get pushed very hard in a year or so.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 02:22 AM   #6
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 478
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

I have a laptop close to that, had 2 gigs of ram not 3 and a 256 video card...so far it works fairly well, sometimes if I let the history build up a little to long it bogs down and I have to restart Maya and it renders slower than I would like but those are my only complaints. I am not all to experianced though so it may be different for you, good luck.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:11 AM   #7
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

wow steve dont think thats anywhere near his price range
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:27 AM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by murambi
wow steve dont think thats anywhere near his price range
Hence why I recommenced a second hand XPS and commented on the HP.

Got to say though the M6500 is a bloody great bit of kit! Just need to upgrade the ram to 16 gig!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 06:58 PM   #9
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

damn i upgraded recently and have 8gb of ram which is way more than i am used to(had 4gb ) i think that much ram wolud make me careless and less efficient with optimising my scenes
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:44 PM   #10
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

What about this one

http://www.compusa.com/applications/...151&CatId=4938
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 09:30 PM   #11
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

thought your budget was 400 bucks for 1000 dollars you could easily get a mac book pro way superior battery life
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 01:16 AM   #12
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Originally posted by murambi
thought your budget was 400 bucks for 1000 dollars you could easily get a mac book pro way superior battery life
Really? http://store.apple.com/us/browse/hom...co=MTAyNTQzMzk
And on top of that they tend to be a little more outside of the US
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 05:21 AM   #13
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by murambi
thought your budget was 400 bucks for 1000 dollars you could easily get a mac book pro way superior battery life
that's some really funny rounding you got going on there murambi, i'd say based on coldwave's first choice at $400 and extra $200 is a massive difference

i dont think there's much wrong with the toshiba, despite it's small battery life
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 11:55 PM   #14
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

nah ... i paid my bills and now i have only 300$ so i'm going for Core 2 Quad and changing my Signe core 3Ghz Celeron...

So basicly i'll have

Core 2 Quad
1GB RAm
256 Nvidia 7600
And my OLD monitor

:headbang:
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 08:45 AM   #15
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I would really try to up the RAM if you can ASAP 1Gig is going to crawl.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.