Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-01-2003, 02:38 AM   #1
pitbull
Registered User
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default LOL! very pathetic question....how do i render a movie?

how can i render a movie? in frames and in animation...
i tried but all i get is 1 frame
__________________
:-)
pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 02:50 AM   #2
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You have to make some changes to the render globals. It is one of the first (if not the first) option there.

I haven't gotten to animation yet, but I think you just need to change one of the settings there.

Frame/animation extention: From single frameto one of the other options.

Unless you render out as an AVI file, you should set the frame padding to 2 if you render out a set of frames with xx numbers, like 01-10 or 01-99.

Frame padding 3 for an anim. with the lenght of 001-100 or 001-999 frames.

There are also option for the file format.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 02:57 AM   #3
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

What exactly do you mean? Do you have a poly plane with a movie or file texture assigned to it and can't get it to go? If that's the case, open the attribute window for the file or movie texture. Under the "Reload File Texture" button is "Use Frame Extension." You have to check this, then click the B&W box to the right of it. In this window, you will have to create an expression to make the movie frames play. Type...

file1.frameExtension = time + 1;

then click "create." Note that your file texture may be "file1" "file2" etc. Make sure you insert the right number in the expression.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 03:00 AM   #4
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

In Render Globals where it says "Frame/Animation Exit" choose any of the options other than single and you'll un-gray out the area allowing you to set your start/end frames and everything else related to it. My suggestion is to use: Name#.ext as far as how the files are output. Leave your frame padding at 3 if you are doing animation over 100 frames. If it's under 100 you could use 2.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 03:14 AM   #5
pitbull
Registered User
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

darkware: underseth got it right...sorry for my breif explanation m8 :-)

ok guys...thanks for the tip! ;-)

what if i want to render out just one single avi file?
__________________
:-)
pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 03:34 AM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

best way would be to render an image sequance, and then go into an editing program, such as After Effects or a freebie program, like the one I use: VideoMach. In these programs, you can bring in your sequance and render out an avi or something.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 04:29 AM   #7
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Then you should just change the file format to AVI. I think the other options will gray out, and become unusable.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 04:31 AM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

yeah, but in my experience, the avi's Maya renders are not the best quality.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 04:37 AM   #9
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh, hehe sorry mtmckinley! My page wasnt updated and I did not see your post
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 07:25 AM   #10
pitbull
Registered User
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

kinda like max i suppose....its avis are quite grainy
__________________
:-)
pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 08:22 AM   #11
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I've just done a vid going over this. It should be put up soon.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 09:52 AM   #12
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

As mike says , he has done a video tutorial on this, I will be releasing today...

thanks mike, a true gent!!!!

many many thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 12:29 PM   #13
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

come get it while its hot guys!:

http://www.simplymaya.com/vip.shtml?tut=49

great tut.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 01:52 PM   #14
pitbull
Registered User
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks guys for the effort to teach us all!!!!!!!

btw...its a freetut?
__________________
:-)
pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2003, 04:53 AM   #15
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

yep
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.