Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-10-2010, 08:29 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help with mesh smooth

Hello everybody!
At my study we've gotten as an assignment to model a teddy bear, but I have some problems when I apply mest smooth to the object. I'm using an instant duplication of the one half of my object, so when the mesh smooth is applied, the original and diplicated object i smoothing individually like you can see below:

What have I done wrong? >.<
Epsilon88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2010, 10:54 AM   #2
Lifetime Member
bullet1968's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts

I dont know to much about instance but from what I have experimented with...the instance is an entity on its techinally you have 2 objects so to speak. So when you smooth...although they appear attached (1 mesh) they Maya will pull it out as 2 meshes. I do it the long way....combine...merge verts then smooth....then back to smooth 1 and delete the half..then copy again...or just CTRL Z. Maybe some one else knows how to smooth them as they are. Sorry I couldnt be more help mate.

Cheers bullet

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2010, 11:00 AM   #3
The thin red line
daverave's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,468
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts

I think you have done a extrude and not deleted the extra polys that were created at the edge, try not to smooth with polys but press the 3 button that should show up the polys I am talking about delete them then snap the verts to the axes you are working in........hope that makes sence.............dave

Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2010, 05:13 PM   #4
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Thanks guys it helped deleting those extra polys that i had created in the middle
Epsilon88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2010, 08:21 PM   #5
Chirone's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts

you can void such things by making sure all faces are quads and planar (or close to)

looks like you need an edge loop right down the middle of your mesh

that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extrude Manipulator does not appear Celebrus Technical Issues 11 15-10-2013 08:37 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.