Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-01-2003, 05:24 PM   #1
Lord Shadow
Registered User
 
Lord Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Liquids

What would be the best way to make a liquid inside a beaker that bubbles and smokes? Also, if I have a thin glass tube, what would be the best way to simulate a liquid flowing through it?
__________________
-I swear it was like that when I got here-
Lord Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 05:38 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

one way I've seen is to have your main "liquid quantity" object, and then use a particle emitter emitting blobby particles with the lifespan set so they pop when they get to the hieght you want.


Using the Particle Flow Path (under the Effects menu I believe) would be good for flowing through a tube, I think.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 10:14 PM   #3
Lord Shadow
Registered User
 
Lord Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am very new at this, so bear with me. Whenever I try to use particles, they don't show up and I get some message about hardware rendering. How do I fix this?
__________________
-I swear it was like that when I got here-
Lord Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 10:50 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

you have 2 different types of particles. Software Renderable and Hardware Renderable. The only Software Renderable particles, I believe, are Clouds, Tubes, and Blobby Surfaces. The rest are Hardware Render particles.

Under Window > Rendering Editors > Hardware Render (or something to that effect) is the Hardware Render window. Using this renderer, you will need to render the particles.

Than, render your scene without them. In an editing program, such as Premier or After Effects, combine the two renders for the final product.

This may be a little advanced for your current stage in learning, but it's good info.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2003, 12:52 AM   #5
Lord Shadow
Registered User
 
Lord Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

I have used Premier before. Thank you for the information-- I greatly appreciate it!
__________________
-I swear it was like that when I got here-
Lord Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.