Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-01-2011, 03:34 PM   #31
TDW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 68
Thanks: 4
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Big THX mate, I'd never have figured that out myself!!! It was very important for me to know how this works, cause I'm not a fan of automatical unwrapping at all. I admit auto mapping has become very good lately, but no matter what 3D app, they just don't know wether I'm unwrapping just an apple or a human head. In most tutorials I watched, even professional ones the authors were using auto unwrap for heads and then fighting down the stretching piece by piece, which took them endlessly. I prefer making the seams myself and get a clean unwrap immediately.


TDW
TDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 03:58 PM   #32
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

no worries mate...glad to help
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:57 PM   #33
TDW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 68
Thanks: 4
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Got some stupid questions for you guys once again:


1. Let's assume you have one solid mesh, but it consists of many single objects. How would I seperate such a single object from the whole in edit mode?

2. The bright colors of the wireframe are really annoying, especially when working on a dense highploy mesh. I found out how to change the wireframe's color yet, but is there a way to just decrease the intensity of the current color?

Solved!!!



Thx, TDW!!!

Last edited by TDW : 06-02-2011 at 02:56 PM.
TDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 12:16 AM   #34
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

You solved them? LOL
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Real Newbie Question TerryG Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 25-12-2010 06:59 PM
Total newbie modeling question...sorry!! xsmason Modeling 7 23-12-2010 03:42 PM
Upgrading from Vista to 7. A series of questions. Acid44 Members Lounge 6 16-12-2010 11:19 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.