Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-01-2011, 11:07 AM   #1
cyranovb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Maya Windows File corrupted on Mac

Hi everybody,

i created a Maya scene on a Windows Pc with Maya 2011. If I open it on a Mac with Maya 2011, too, parts of the animation are gone and materials are missing. I tried multiple files, so data loss on tansfer can be excluded.
I can't explain this phenomenon. Does anybody have experience on PC Mac exchange or can anybody explain that effect?
Thanks in advance!
cyranovb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cyranovb For This Useful Post:
Old 22-06-2011, 01:29 AM   #2
mechanicarts
Registered User
 
mechanicarts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 45
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Why don't you try saving in different formats? You mentioned different files, but formats?

Try .ma or even .fbx though I'm not sure it supports animation or other Maya attributes.
mechanicarts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2011, 12:17 PM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i'm going to guess it's something to do with the file paths. I have both pc and mac, but i only have maya on pc atm (my mac is only an entry level one so it can't do much)

i'm going to guess that when you say the materials are missing you mean the textures aren't on the model? You'd have to check the file path that the material is referring to is right.

I'm also guessing some of your animations are saved out as clips? it's likely again that the file paths aren't right

i'm not sure how to make the file paths relative to the project file but i think this issue has been bought up before with someone saying their textures are lost when brining one project over from one computer to another.
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chirone For This Useful Post:
Old 23-06-2011, 08:09 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

[quote=Chirone;321037]my mac is only an entry level one so it can't do much[quote]

Surely not, mac's are really powerful.

Just removed my tongue from my cheek.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2011, 01:04 PM   #5
jerlin09
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

still i have the same problem ... is there any updated solution for this ?????
__________________
attendance tracking software
jerlin09 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jerlin09 For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya 11 won't open, can only see "Output" window. Cronnix Technical Issues 3 22-06-2011 01:30 AM
glu3D and Maya bullet1968 Technical Issues 2 21-12-2010 05:27 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.