Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-01-2011, 09:07 AM   #1
omegaend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Default maya lagging

Hi greetings i facing a problem which is while i am modeling or texturing in maya software
at the meantime the maya keeping lagging i wonder what was happened
pls guide me tq
omegaend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2011, 10:57 AM   #2
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

In waht way is it lagging mate??? as you model or as you view and turn the model around?
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:30 AM   #3
omegaend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Default

all, when i click face i want to select few faces it will like stop fews sec then proceed as well as when i turning the model
omegaend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:58 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If your model was fine and has slowley started to lag your model might have build up quite a history when modelling, this can cause maya to lag as it is processing all this in the background.

To delete the history select the model and go to Edit -> Delete by Type -> History.

This clears the history and should speed Maya up.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 10:21 AM   #5
omegaend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Default

hi gster123 thank you for u advice.. i appreciate besides this matter do u have another way to make it more smooth??
omegaend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 08:49 PM   #6
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Another thing that can bog down the modeling panels is smooth preview being used on a lot of objects.

Also if your scene is getting complex and you don't feel like making display layers for everything then you can use this script I made. It works on components as well as objects. You can put it on a shelf or make a hotkey or whatever. I went the hotkey route.

//----------------------------------------------

{

//--get panel that has focus.
string $currentPanel = `getPanel -wf`;

//--if none available, get panel under mouse pointer.
if ($currentPanel == "")
$currentPanel = `getPanel -up`;

//--make sure panel is a modeling panel.
string $panelType = `getPanel -to $currentPanel`;

//--if so, carry on.
if ($panelType == "modelPanel"){

//--query if isolation is active.
int $isolateCheck = `isolateSelect -q -state $currentPanel`;

//--if its on, turn it off pweez :3.
if ($isolateCheck == 1){
isolateSelect -state 0 $currentPanel;
//--if not, turn it on.
}else{
enableIsolateSelect $currentPanel 1;
isoSelectAutoAddNewObjs $currentPanel 1;
isolateSelect -state 1 $currentPanel;
isolateSelect -update $currentPanel;
}
}

}

//--------------------------------------------------------------
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 03:50 AM   #7
omegaend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Default

hi gect im less know abt mel can u help me perhaps step by step abt the scripts u gv me.. tq in billion gect
omegaend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 09:02 PM   #8
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Maybe I should have made myself clearer. The script hides/unhides everything that you do not have selected.

Copy the script into Maya's Script Editor, highlight it and middle mouse drag it to a shelf or get into the Hotkey Editor and make a new hotkey and paste the script there, if you don't know how to make a custom hotkey --->http://download.autodesk.com/us/maya...umber=d0e92970
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:21 AM   #9
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Ok mate...you seem a little confused? first off what OS are you running and what are your system specs...Maya uses a fair bit of resources when the geo gets complex...so post your specs as well.
.
As Genny has pointed out delete the history and use the script she posted to hide things that dont need to be there. Also if you group the model correctly or put them in their respective layers you can hide them through the outliner...by selecting the un needed parts in outliner and using 'ctrl h'...this will hide what you dont need to see.

Also how dense have you made the model...mesh wise. If you have smoothed the model too much Maya will take time to calculate all of these points...

Here is s trick (thanks to LOZ) that also might help....got to Display>Heads Up Display>Frame Rate...and tick it...this will display the frame rate the PC is using while you model on the bottom right of screen.

Then in the viewport go Shading>Interactive Shading and click on the options box..then make sure the 'Interactive Shading Mode' is set to bounding box...then hit close. Then again go Shading and just click on Interactive shading to turn it on. Now when you pan/tumble the model should revert back to a wireframe and low poly..this will take less resources...when you stop moving it will turn into the high poly and textures...try that.

Cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes

Last edited by bullet1968 : 06-02-2011 at 01:23 AM. Reason: spelling
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 01:11 PM   #10
omegaend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Default

hi bullet 1968 soli for late reply
my spec is core i5 , 4gb ram, 1gb ati graphic card
my polygon only have 18k, render setting is in default mode, i using preview smooth mode which i just press "5" i delete all type of history ald i din hide any part of my model, i have 4 layer which is img plane, car body and car mirror and car tire.i using low res texture to put on my car as a result in rendering it just like freezing the time couldnt render at all need to restart maya.

thanks for you guide i would like to try where is the viewport?
omegaend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 05:08 AM   #11
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Hmmmmmm....'5' is not smooth preview...have you re assigned hotkeys? Smooth preview is '3' on the number keypad...not the normal numbers on keyboard. Well your system has plenty of power...have you played with the render settings??
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 11:18 AM   #12
omegaend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Default

haha soli my bad i means "3" the rental setting i put it on default setting only for the preset i make hd720
omegaend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 11:26 AM   #13
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

send me your model mate...and I will have a look at it ok??

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:31 PM   #14
omegaend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Default

ok here is my car in texture testing progress
Attached Thumbnails
 
omegaend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 11:34 PM   #15
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Well it doesnt look too bad??? send me your saved .mb file if you can? I cant see the problems LOL I need to open it
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Windows File corrupted on Mac cyranovb Technical Issues 4 14-07-2011 01:04 PM
First Maya Project - Yet another guitar joni.giuro Finished Work 7 21-12-2010 06:31 PM
glu3D and Maya bullet1968 Technical Issues 2 21-12-2010 05:27 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.