Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-02-2011, 02:57 PM   #1
jrm522
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 41
Thanks: 5
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Default All but one object has vanished??

I hope this is a really dumb question and someone can answer quickly.

I was trying to change UV's of an object and I must of hit a shortcut or something because everything else has vanished.

i can see everything in the outliner, select and all the visibilities are set to on. In the viewports show tab, All the different object types are set to on, so i should be seeing everything, and all the layers are activated too.

have i entered some isolation mode or something?

Thanks

... turning off all layers doesnt remove the one object i can see.

Nothing to do with clipping planes as visible object is amongst others

Last edited by jrm522 : 25-02-2011 at 03:32 PM.
jrm522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2011, 04:21 PM   #2
jrm522
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 41
Thanks: 5
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Default

woop figured it out. In the renderer tab, i was on 'default quality rendering', and by choosing viewport 2.0 my objects returned. Slightly concerned for my scene as I am sure I was always on this setting so what has changed?. nm i shall crack the manual out now i know the problem
jrm522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2011, 07:02 PM   #3
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

You shouldn't need to be in viewport 2.0 to see objects.
I can't duplicate your issue, either, though...
This is an enigma to me. Very strange indeed.
Wish I could help more-
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2011, 07:16 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I wonder if you hit "isolate selected" which might be viewport specific (i.e. if you change to a different viewport mode e.g. 2.0, it turns off). Try in the panel menus > view > isolate selected. If you go back to original viewport mode, is it still isolated?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2011, 08:47 PM   #5
jrm522
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 41
Thanks: 5
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Default

I am using Maya 2011, I don't have anything isolated and the visibility issue is across all viewports. I can isolate the one object i can see, and it remains isolated in each viewport mode but it doesn't change the visibility of the other objects.

Is there some way in Maya to only see those objects with uv maps applied? because i was playing with the UV texture editor when i noticed everything else had disappeared? the object i can see, is the only one with an image applied as a texture.

thanks for the input. Il keep digging
jrm522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2011, 08:53 PM   #6
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

It might be a bug with the scene. You could try creating a new scene, then importing the buggy one, see if the objects are now visible or not.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2011, 09:07 PM   #7
jrm522
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 41
Thanks: 5
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Default

I think i found my issue, No idea how, or why, but here goes..

I selected an invisible object went along to the renderLayer node ticked the global box for 'Render Layer Options' and suddenly all my objects reappeared. I dont understand how i unticked this or even why this option would effect the viewport. All my layers including render layers were visible.

Maya seems glitchy and slow atm, may have to try rescue objects and start again anyway.

Thanks everyone for your help
jrm522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help please! olegcotuna Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 28-02-2011 08:28 AM
Mental ray object ignored error??? bullet1968 Technical Issues 4 26-02-2011 02:13 AM
Extracting object from a group alentor Technical Issues 2 13-02-2011 01:05 PM
pivot point question Raptor365 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 02-02-2011 04:58 PM
Making an object appear along an axis marioepsley Animation 5 12-01-2011 06:32 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.