Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-03-2011, 01:49 PM   #1
akashkodesia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Modeling file size

Hello guyz.........
i have model a wheel for the car i have modelin maya.I have model the wheels separately with all details after applying smoothness, maya becomes very slow. My system configuration is core 2 quad 2.66 ghz 4 gb ram and ati 5770 graphics card is my system is not powerful enough to handle a model of a wheel. The file size of the wheel is 17 mb. please help me........
akashkodesia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2011, 04:53 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Have you tried deleting the history..........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2011, 05:03 PM   #3
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

Can you post a picture of the wheel with wireframe & poly/tri numbers switched on ?
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2011, 05:45 PM   #4
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,994
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

You may need to work with proxy models of the wheels for positioning and rendering and you can also switch on the graphics display mode that turns off smooth render when changing camera views. I believe it is a setting under the camera tab.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2011, 12:35 PM   #5
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Try to avoid using smooth as much as possible.
You can tell mental ray to subdivide at render time, or just have the smooth occur as a pre-render script.

If its really essential to have the smooth visible in maya at some point then duplicate the mesh and then smooth the duplicate so you can switch between the two when needed.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2011, 02:06 PM   #6
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

a 17 mb file of a wheel does sound like a little overkill even smoothed. you have either too much history in that file or just plain too much geometry. i got here a 1.8 mb big file and one model in there got about 37k tris in it. maya will warn me every time i try to turn smooth mesh preview on. of course maya will let me smooth it again. there is never going to be a warning about that (and i did that just to check out how maya handles a big enough model it had the guts to warn me about before). but then if i do that maya gets really really slow and unresponsive - even selecting that model takes a second or two - switching to component mode and selecting a few things? you better grab a coffee. your graphic card will however not even break a sweat displaying your model in the viewport - and tumbling it around should still work faster than your display can display it.

and like joey said - a screen shot w/ wire and poly count would be very useful in further fixing your problem ....


cheers,
duckie
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
modeling viens...how to? quarksurfer Modeling 6 16-03-2011 12:45 PM
Starting with Modeling Vortexx Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 14 20-01-2011 06:24 PM
Modeling a chain joemilkweed Modeling 9 10-01-2011 05:01 PM
New Tutorial - Poly Plane Modeling Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 3 29-12-2010 01:09 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.