Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-03-2011, 11:02 AM   #16
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

To be fair...big choz is in the newbie lounge...and stwert you are doing a sterling job as usual...but I think big choz you could google/research a little too mate...I also have asked a lot of questions but I have also worn out my keyboard googling..so I think what dom meant without offence, is to try and experiment off your own bat mate is all...so lets get back to the fun and have a beer and get into it

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 08:34 PM   #17
daithos11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how to render in mental ray with a turntable?
daithos11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 08:46 PM   #18
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

http://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=35308 Post #7

For the turntable, simply animate your object rotating 360 degrees over 100-200 frames.
Edit: Post #13 in the FAQs

Last edited by stwert : 10-05-2011 at 08:52 PM.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 10:30 PM   #19
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

To flesh out dom's first post...

i think it's bad manner to make a thread that has no subject in the title.
i realize that people probably don't know what it is they want to ask and so they make a thread with "NEED HELP", "NEED ADVICE", "HLP FST PLZ", and "IM NOOB, HLP ME NW" but really that's not a good way to start or end your question by trying to rush for replies and answers. A vague title like "rendering query" would be more useful, not only for the people who can answer the question but other people who are seeking related advice.

i'm not picking on you specifically Big Choz, a lot of people do it and i perceive it as being rude being you won't get help any faster by shouting at people. I know this probably isn't the intention but it does come across that way.
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 10:35 PM   #20
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I think this is a bit of an older thread, bumped by someone else's question... I just don't think this needs to get revisited at the moment.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 04:06 AM   #21
big choz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok ..Thanks for the info i will try to be more formal in the future ....
big choz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 04:08 AM   #22
big choz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the info ...I understand and will do that...
big choz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 08:14 AM   #23
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

another way to do a turntable would be to use a camera an aim and a circle as a motion path. This is quite cool because all you have to do is scale and move the circle to change the turntable.
another way would be to use the turntable button. just set up the camera view and select the top group of the object. i think the button in the animate menu.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Windows File corrupted on Mac cyranovb Technical Issues 4 14-07-2011 01:04 PM
Maya 2011 Extrude Issue clearairstudios Technical Issues 10 08-04-2011 03:49 PM
New User. Sketchup editiing in Maya KaisoArt Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 02-03-2011 06:56 AM
A Real Newbie Question TerryG Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 25-12-2010 06:59 PM
Total newbie modeling question...sorry!! xsmason Modeling 7 23-12-2010 03:42 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.