Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-04-2011, 08:58 AM   #1
amitr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default How to override an transp' animation in a Layer?

Hello,

I have few objects.
Each object have a material of its own.

all materials have the same Transparency animation.

I want, that in a another layer, I can turn off one of the objects Transparency. (completely, to all frames).

So I have a spacial layer when all other objects have Transparency animation, but that object don't get any Transparency at all.

please help,
thanks for your time . : )
amitr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to amitr For This Useful Post:
Old 13-04-2011, 01:17 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

You will have to assign a separate shader to the object because shaders act the same on all objects to which they're assigned.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gen For This Useful Post:
Old 14-04-2011, 05:49 PM   #3
amitr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default thanks

but are you sure that there is no way to have it so the Layer will decide If the object Will get the transp' or not ?

I can do this in XSI with pass partitions (with override on the partition), I believe there is a similar solution in the maya layering system...
amitr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to amitr For This Useful Post:
Old 14-04-2011, 06:14 PM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

right click on the transparency in the shader there is a render layer override there.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to honestdom For This Useful Post:
Old 14-04-2011, 07:29 PM   #5
amitr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default thanks

sorry for asking,

but can you please write me step by step how to do this right ?

thanks.
amitr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to amitr For This Useful Post:
Old 15-04-2011, 03:35 PM   #6
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Bit of math will do this just fine, my feeling is your animation is coming from seperate animation curves which is standard.

This setup will let you have the flexibility to alter the peaks of the animation per object and to set it to fully transparent or opaque.

You will need to know how to:
make custom attributes, use and create nodes in the hypershade, use the connection editor.

Make two attributes on the transform for each object, one called transMax
and the other called transMin.
In the hypershade graph your shaders, the transforms of your objects (which hold the custom attributes), and then create a set range node, one for each shader.

On each set range node set the old min to zero and old max to 1, then plug your transMin and transMax attributes from your objects translate to the min and max values of the set range node ( do this once for each object).

Plug the output of your animation, (should appear when you graphed your shaders) you might find you have three animCurves for each shader (representing the r, g, b components of the transparency), feel free to delete all but one since your animation is the same. Plug the output of your anim curve into the value x of the set range and then the outValueX of the set range into the transparency R, G and B component of your shader.

This should do what you want... basicaly, by setting the transMin to 1 and 1 will set your shader to be fully transparent per object and setting it to 0 and 0 will set it to fully opaque, you can do any thing inbetween too.

This probably wont update the transparency in your viewport due to the that are being used. Though you can probably do somethign similar to try and get feedback int he viewport, e.g. plug the set range into the colors of a ramp with one color in it (the inputs for this can be found in the connection editor under colorEntryList>colorEntry List[0].color R G B, this will do the same thing but it might display into the viewport since the output isnt coming directly from a math node.

Hope this helps

... This is better than animation layers by the way, alot cleaner and more control .
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LauriePriest For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Layer Issue G-Man Technical Issues 1 30-03-2011 09:23 PM
Animation Project 2.0 fairdinkim_m8 Finished Work 5 15-02-2011 05:00 PM
Final Animation Project 2010 fairdinkim_m8 Finished Work 5 19-12-2010 05:44 AM
HELP! Rendering output doesn't match animation cyranovb Mental Ray 6 17-12-2010 10:00 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.