Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-01-2003, 09:22 PM   #1
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hydrolics-like system...help?

I need help animating a hydrolics-like system.

I have these two "bars" that open and close vertically and i'l like the cylinders to act as if they pushing them open and close.

I've included the file so you can see what i've done for far.

thanks in advance


EDIT: would this post be better in the Dynamics fourm?

Last edited by doodle : 29-01-2003 at 09:25 PM.
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2003, 09:45 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I think Set Driven Key would work well. I'm not able to open 4.5 files, though, so I'm not sure what your scene actually is.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2003, 10:00 PM   #3
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

maybe you could save it as a .ma file so 4.0 users can open the file
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2003, 10:01 PM   #4
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

is a 4.0
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2003, 10:08 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

oops. sorry. I just assumed it was 4.5.

You know what they say about people who "ass u me"
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2003, 10:15 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yes, I'd use Set Driven Key.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2003, 10:33 PM   #7
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I dont really know that much about SDK's, but i suppose i couse use kevins spaceship-SDK tut to learn.
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....

Last edited by doodle : 29-01-2003 at 11:25 PM.
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2003, 07:19 AM   #8
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by z1mmnd14
I dont really know that much about SDK's, but i suppose i couse use kevins spaceship-SDK tut to learn.
There is also a free leg rig tutorial that will use set driven keys!
I should rerlease it next week mate.

Quite handy as it has 4 different SDK`s so give you lots of practise
  Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2003, 10:28 PM   #9
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would like to know to i could only render out the marked out part of the image below.
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2003, 04:27 PM   #10
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have this bulb, (there will be more), i need to light it and for them to flash 1-by-1 creating a scequence in a line.

any help?
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2003, 06:05 PM   #11
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

you would need to give it some sort of glass shader,and place an animated light inside it.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 10:37 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.