Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-02-2003, 07:08 PM   #1
el-ignoramus
Registered User
 
el-ignoramus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dual processor Mother Boards

Hi all, what are the best places to purchase a dual processor MB a good brand in UK

and what's the price range?

I'm talking about P 4 compatability with maximum Memory and IDE possible

Com'on guyz, spill it over
__________________
I don't suffer from stress, I'm a carrier.
el-ignoramus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 09:28 PM   #2
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

id also like to know of some nice cheap places in the uk
but im looking for AMD MP mboards based on the new MPX chipset

anyone with the knowledge?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 09:45 PM   #3
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

This might be a little biased answer but I have an MSI K7D Master-L dual amd board (MPX chipset) and I'm very pleased with it. Had some trouble with the RAM first. Some say this board is picky about the RAM but I think it was just a bad coincindence. Had them replaced and it's working flawless now...

Bottom line: 100% stable system now. Been running this slightly overclocked ( 140MHz FSB (280 DDR) ) with 100% load for long times (longest render was about 15hrs) with no problems.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 03:03 AM   #4
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

is the msi the one with the built in level0 raid?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 06:42 AM   #5
el-ignoramus
Registered User
 
el-ignoramus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

not sure about the AMD solutions, I know they rock when it comes to graphics, but I just hate unexpected surprises, specially I'll be purchasing it abroad so it's a nag if anything went wrong with it, beside I like full opetions like installing linux for example, also I think If I went with RD-RAM with Intels it'll be faster

any con's pro's Intel Vs. AMD please advice
__________________
I don't suffer from stress, I'm a carrier.
el-ignoramus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 12:27 PM   #6
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

intel peocessors are expensive but theyre fast
intel motherboards are expensive but theyre stable
intel RDram is expensive but isnt used anymore

AMD arent as powerful as intel, but the reason people go with amd is cos theyre pretty powerful considering how cheap they are compared to intels
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 01:00 PM   #7
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I was a pure Intel guy before too. This is my first AMD setup and I don't have anything bad to say about it. Btw, I have linux installed in this thing too. Haven't had the time to tweak it to it's full potential yet though.

Nem: No raid in this mobo. Just the usual stuff plus on-board audio and NIC. Here's the details: http://www.msicomputer.com/product/d...l=K7D_Master_L
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 08:18 PM   #8
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ive never seen that board before, is it recent?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 08:26 PM   #9
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I belive it was released around May - June 2002...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 10:22 PM   #10
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Dual processor Mother Boards

Originally posted by el-ignoramus
Hi all, what are the best places to purchase a dual processor MB a good brand in UK

and what's the price range?

I'm talking about P 4 compatability with maximum Memory and IDE possible
P4's currently arent SMP capable, but intel have dropped the price on their Xeons quite considerably.

IWILL make about the best "value" dual xeon board (DPL533) which is based on the Intel placer chipset(dual channel DDR).
Its about £320 (take a look on Iwills site for a list of UK resellers) - coupled with 2x 2.8 / 533 FSB Xeons + a gig of ram you looking at about £1100 if you shop around.
Not cheap, but if you want the best.....

Dual AMD are a far cheaper alterantive and offer good performance, but the MPX chipset is getting a bit long in the tooth and afaik AMD have no plans on updating their smp products until the hammer cpus come out.
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 11:36 PM   #11
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

oh i must be thinking of sumthing else, whats the most recent AMD chipset?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2003, 12:14 AM   #12
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There have only been 2 dual AMD chipsets - the 760-MP, and the 760-MPX.
The MPX was released about 12 months ago and was really just a performance tweak on the original MP.
Still a very sweet chipset if you want SMP without having to break the bank
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2003, 12:24 AM   #13
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Get yourself one of these babies!!!
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2003, 08:10 PM   #14
el-ignoramus
Registered User
 
el-ignoramus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Guyz thanks for all your help, you're the best -not that you need me to tell you that anyway -

I think I might Give the AMD another look, I'm searching nowadays for benchmarking tests and marks, only problem still is that AMD doesn't comply with a certain Technology for long, i.e. the new AMD processor could get me into replacing the whole damn thing

while with INtel at least you know how they'll go for some future time, IMHO.


Kal thanks for the specific Info the kind I was looking for exactly

Kbrown I like your setup too much

EMO Did you manipulate that image or is my glasses playing tricks again on me OMG 4 Processors WOW with Windows 2000 Advanced Server and you're invincible

thanks again guys, I'll keep u informed on my plans
__________________
I don't suffer from stress, I'm a carrier.
el-ignoramus is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.