Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-02-2003, 09:10 PM   #1
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How Can I model this in Maya ?

This model was done in 3DMAX
The modeler tweaked the mesh to create a bricklike mesh -
Is there a simple way to model it in Maya ?

HAve a look:

http://www.3dtotal.com/team/Tutorial...jpalamo1_2.jpg


Nir
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 09:31 PM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

pretty much the same way

Sorry...
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 09:33 PM   #3
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But I don't know how he made it in 3DMAX

brrr.....


Nir
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 09:47 PM   #4
Basura3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 166
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What I would do is use the cut faces tool so I get the vertical lines, then do the horisontal and last do the vertical ínbetweens. Then you could extrude the individual polygons and do a little bevel by scaling them.
Basura3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 10:44 PM   #5
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

It depends on your personal preference, but I would do the same as above, only instead of the Cut faces tool, I would use the Split Polygon tool for more control over the exact placement of your "bricks". Then, select the individual brick faces, and extrude/tweak to taste.

Takes a bit longer than the Cut Faces technique, but it gives you "brick" level control of detail....
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2003, 03:03 PM   #6
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

hey Basura3d, are you a max to maya convert??? "CUT" faces tool????

if it were me,i would use the same method basura mntioned, but by using the Split poly tool ,

Tariq
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2003, 07:16 PM   #7
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

actually this is as simple as deleting every other vertical edge in a wall full of rectangles

Nir
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2003, 05:15 AM   #8
Basura3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 166
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tariqrf, you got me! Old Max dog with old habbits...

Nir, then why do you ask
Basura3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2003, 02:41 PM   #9
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

I would use split poly til u get what you want then if you wanna really go for it, extrude faces after. Or more simply to cut on your render time, a poly plane with a good map on it.
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŽ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.