Welcome to SimplyMaya

SimplyMaya.com has been teaching Maya for eleven years. We believe in teaching the fundamental principles of 3D by example. In our online library you will find more than 500 hours of video training.
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-08-2012, 10:50 PM   #1
PeacockBlue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default maya crashed. help plz!

I was modeling motorbike
As I almost finish the modeling and started to work on detail part of element.
Maya was crashed ( and there is screen that show “maya application file has stopped working”)
Every time I try to reopen the file
Maya application would crash with this notice as I was switching view point or used polygon’s tool in that file.
But this situation only happened in that motorbike scene
and this is most complex and big scene I ever made so far

ps: I only use polygon in this scene and didn’t do rendering yet.

Here is my information of my computer:

Maya 32bit
Windows 7 32bit
RAM: 6.00GB
Intel(R) Core™ i7 CPU
ATIRadeom HD5970

Can anyone help?
Thank!
PeacockBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 11:09 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,258
Thanks: 97
Thanked 917 Times in 846 Posts
Default

Can you open this file if so open it and export your mesh as object file the reimport into a new maya file...............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 11:48 PM   #3
PeacockBlue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by daverave View Post
Can you open this file if so open it and export your mesh as object file the reimport into a new maya file...............dave
Thank for replying me so fast
Yeah I tried the way u provides.
The mesh exported to other Maya file successfully.
But application was still crashed by I switching view point in the new file.


Is any other way I can try?

Thank!
PeacockBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 01:37 AM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Candyland..no seriously, Jacksonville
Posts: 3,183
Thanks: 11
Thanked 583 Times in 512 Posts
Default

If you saved it as an .ma file and you have an idea of what you did to make Maya crash then you could open it in a text editor and chop out the bad info.

On a side note, why use a 32bit OS and Maya on that kind of hardware? :s
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 01:50 AM   #5
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,089
Thanks: 57
Thanked 652 Times in 589 Posts
Default

Yeah, it's possible you're not able to use all your RAM and as a result are running out of memory? Can you see the mem usage when you open up the file? Is there anything else that the error message says?
__________________
-stwert

Website - Blog - Vimeo - Facebook - Twitter

"There are a million ways to achieve something in Maya, and only 500,000 of those ways are a bad
idea." -Eric Keller
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 04:19 AM   #6
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,958
Thanks: 42
Thanked 567 Times in 519 Posts
Default

It really should not matter if he is using 32 or 64 bit versions of the os and the software. With his system 64-bit would make more sense but maya should keep a valid version of the scene file at all times and worst case you should end up with some changes not updated. I use half a dozen 3D modeling packages and ONLY maya corrupts scene files!

I am constantly plagued with "error parsing data line 762" when I open scenes and the scene opens in wireframe with the grid settings and other preference settings scrambled.

For over a year I have been bitching about Maya's lack of stability when deleting history, and saving files, and preferences and scene files becoming corrupted. For almost as long I have listened to people use the "I have used maya for x years and it's working fine for me" defense. I got tired of it and have captured several stack dumps and spent over 3 hours with an engineer that has confirmed every single problem I have been reporting since maya 2010!

His answer was we know it's happening. We know it's happening on what we consider small subset of systems. We know it is a hardware or software conflict but it's not a priority and there are no solutions at this time!

So I just model more and more in modo. I would switch to max but I refuse to invest any time in learning any autodesk products!
__________________
"If I have seen farther, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 05:02 AM   #7
PeacockBlue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank both of you!

For GecT
I change the maya file to the .ma file

and I just installed a Notepad text editor from internet

But I am not familiar with text editor

I still kind of try to figure out how to see the bad info by using text editor


For stwert
Yeah it is possible. Would problem of ram caused by window7 32bit?

“maya application file has stopped working” is as far as error message I saw so far

I still try to find the way to acquire the message by opening up the file as u mention.

Thank all
PeacockBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 05:08 AM   #8
PeacockBlue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ctbram View Post
It really should not matter if he is using 32 or 64 bit versions of the os and the software. With his system 64-bit would make more sense but maya should keep a valid version of the scene file at all times and worst case you should end up with some changes not updated. I use half a dozen 3D modeling packages and ONLY maya corrupts scene files!

I am constantly plagued with "error parsing data line 762" when I open scenes and the scene opens in wireframe with the grid settings and other preference settings scrambled.

For over a year I have been bitching about Maya's lack of stability when deleting history, and saving files, and preferences and scene files becoming corrupted. For almost as long I have listened to people use the "I have used maya for x years and it's working fine for me" defense. I got tired of it and have captured several stack dumps and spent over 3 hours with an engineer that has confirmed every single problem I have been reporting since maya 2010!

His answer was we know it's happening. We know it's happening on what we consider small subset of systems. We know it is a hardware or software conflict but it's not a priority and there are no solutions at this time!

So I just model more and more in modo. I would switch to max but I refuse to invest any time in learning any autodesk products!
thank for the information! I should more consider about what you said
PeacockBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 07:58 AM   #9
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Candyland..no seriously, Jacksonville
Posts: 3,183
Thanks: 11
Thanked 583 Times in 512 Posts
Default

You can try out jEdit and you can get the mel syntax highlighting on CreativeCrash, I think its worth the setup because you're probably going to have to do this again or maybe you'll get into scripting.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP PLEASE Dushyant Technical Issues 12 25-08-2012 08:49 AM
Maya Dynamic, Float object Problem. Help plz dubai3d Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 06-07-2012 02:41 PM
Installation issue Munsford Technical Issues 2 11-11-2011 02:57 PM
World of Eden Online - Recruiting Maya Artists DragonRIft Members Lounge 17 20-09-2011 08:14 AM
Rendering Problem NoxRequiem Lighting & Rendering 6 01-04-2011 09:39 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2014 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.