Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-02-2003, 02:33 AM   #1
silva
Subscriber
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Repeating textures

I downloaded a few textures, like a ground cobblestone texture and a brick wall texture etc, but my problem lies when I add the texture to say the ground or a wall I made. for example the brick texture, if I add it to a small plane it looks fine, but the problem is when I make the wall larger, it stretches the texture so the wall is large but theres still only about 6-7 huge bricks in it! Is there a way around this somehow so I can get a lot of nice small bricks? I know nothing about creating textures and I dont have photoshop etc (only MS Paint!).

Thanks
silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2003, 02:36 AM   #2
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Use the planar mapping option, and just scale down the texture on the plane.
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2003, 03:22 AM   #3
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

to assign something like that to a model you need a placement node (i think its a 2d placement node in this case) but go into your hypershade, select the placement node for the texture, double click it to open the attribute editor then theres an option called repeat just crank it up and you've got a repeating texture
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2003, 05:32 AM   #4
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Open Hypershade and create your shader first, for something like a brick wall I would use a lambert. Next double-click on the lambert and click on the option box next to the color slot. Choose File from the 2d menu. You should now be at the textures information, go down to UV Coordinates and click on the option arrow to the right. Inside you will find controls to rotate, translate, and repeat your texture. Use Repeat UV to repeat your file image across the surface. By default it is set to 1 and 1. Try increasing botht he U and V coordinates to start, you will have to p0lay for a while to get something you are happy with. Your best bet is to IPR render a portion of your scene and then start changing the texture coordinates

Good Luck!

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.