Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-02-2003, 04:18 PM   #1
skyzeyez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Control Cube?

Hi everyone. How do we make a non-rendering control cube for animating body parts? Does anyone have the mel script?
skyzeyez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2003, 04:51 PM   #2
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

you mean like a lattice? you can put things in a lattice by going to (animation) deform>create lattice

or you could group the objects together?

or better yet, oh, wait, sorry just thought of a better way (well, i think this is more what ur looking for)
if you're tryin to create an object which you move and will control the movement of an object (like a foot) thats easy
for sumthing like a foot (for example) take the IK handles' selection handle (go into component mode to get to this) and move it out in front of the foot so you can grab it easily
thats one way, another way:
open up your connection editor, create a cube and put it somewhere so u can easily select it, connect up the IK handles' attributes to the cubes attributes so when you move the cube, you move the handle
or another way: etc etc
as you may have noticed there are a quite a few ways to do this or I could be completely wrong and i wud have typed all that out for no reason! lol which i dnt mind cos im in a friendly helping kinda mood atm
at least i know you dont need a mel script for it
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2003, 05:17 PM   #3
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

To make a non-rendering cube or whatever you can just disconnect it from the initial shading group in the hypergraph...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2003, 06:10 PM   #4
skyzeyez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks Nem and kbrown. I opted to use a volume cube. Then I point, orient and pole vector constrained them to the appropriate IK handles. BUT, when I attempted to "freeze transformations," the cubes would not revert to zero. Any thoughts as to why? Thanks in advance.
skyzeyez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2003, 07:06 PM   #5
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

or to make it non renderable u just open the attribute editor and uncheck renderable

with the freeze transformations have you checked the options?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.