Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-02-2003, 11:28 PM   #1
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How can I Loft these 2 curves ?

Why is it that Maya always makes me regret buying it ?

Why can't I loft these 2 curves and get a smooth transition ?

I tried reversing , rebuilding and birailing...

BTW - the upper curve is an offset of the lower curve


Nir
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2003, 11:32 PM   #2
cb8rwh
Subscriber
 
cb8rwh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 581
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

is that 2 curves or a few curves?? maybe try splitting the curves into smaller pieces??

have you tried to rebuild the curves?? then do the loft again

don't know if these will work.


cheers

rich
cb8rwh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2003, 11:35 PM   #3
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tired both tricks :

The 1st is too much work and second just didn't do it
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 01:37 AM   #4
Xiangbuilder
Registered User
 
Xiangbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shandong province China
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Good luck

Hello, Nirsul.
I'm a Maya beginner.
My Engilsh is poor, perhaps I don't understand your meaning
exactly.
Have a look at the picture, do you want to do this?
I wonder if you can send your .mb file to the website or me?
I used CV Curve Tool create a curve, then duplicated it,
move one of this a little, then loft them.
Hope that is helpful to you.
Xiangbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 02:49 AM   #5
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Xiangbuilder is leading you in the right direction. If what he's doing doesn't work, make sure that both curves are exactly the same. ALso, you might want to make sure your settings in "loft" are set to default. You may have been fiddling around in there and done something to make this happen. If I remember correctly, you can either make the loft a polygon or nurbs. You can additionally try either one and see if the result is any better.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 04:53 AM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

When you offset, the spans of your curve are drasticly altered. Take a look at this:
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 06:59 AM   #7
dexter10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Apeldoorn, Holland
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Offset vs. Duplicate

This begs the question: Why then would you want to Offset curves rather than Duplicate them?
dexter10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 07:09 AM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

perhaps you could use curves as a placement reference or whatever... not necessarily wanting a surface using that curve. Maya tends to give you multiple options at accomplishing the same objective.

Also, after offsetting, you can rebuild the curve to be 8 spans or whatever your original curve's spans are, but that would more than likely alter the shape of the curve. Just depends on how you want to do it.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 09:13 AM   #9
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys -

I offset them because I wanted a smaller curve that follows the source curve's shape - Duplicating and lofting is always good and easy but I can do it by extrude and distance .

If you see the backhoe loader model in my maya page - the roof gave me some hard time trying to loft an offsetCurve.
I think Mike's solution is the one to follow (well, he is a king in NURBS, ain't ya Mike ? ...)
:p :p :p :p

Nir
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 10:02 AM   #10
strarup
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I don't know much about Nurbs, but I tried it with polygons instead...

I don't think it is very usefull to your problem, but I just had to try...

regards

Strarup
strarup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 04:50 PM   #11
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As you can see Maya is not very helpful in this very simple need.

To be honest - this is a BIG and BAD surprise for me.

The offset command does its job very bad if you want a parallel copy of your curve so I imported the same shape from AutoCAD and than used DETACH which is good if you have less than 10 curves in your curve - and I lofted each each pair.

As you can see - I needed an offset (the red lines shw that the distance is consistent) and not a duplicate - because when you duplicate and then rescale - it does not give a similar distance between all the edges.

Anybody interested in a used Maya 4.5 Complete.. COL=Crying out Loud...)
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com

Last edited by nirsul : 25-02-2003 at 04:53 PM.
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 05:30 PM   #12
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I love it when people are ready to return a piece of software because they feel the software should conform to them instead of them conforming to the software.

Not meant as an insult or as a negative comment... I just think it's funny.

Good luck!
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 07:58 PM   #13
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Mike
You've got to admit that I am right - there is no way to do what I want in maya

I tried the rebuild command and I am used to work with software that actually does what you expect it to do - if oyu have ever worked with Rhino - you know that NURBS are a pure delight in that sense

Nir

and No I am not giving up on Maya ( i am paying for it for the next 33 months OUCH !)

:o :o
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 10:15 PM   #14
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Well, so far, I must say, I've had no problems getting Maya to do what I want.

Just my observation, is all. I don't really know if our back-and-forth here can really accomplish much. How about we just agree to disagree.

__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 09:10 PM   #15
STZ
Registered User
 
STZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is my first real post here.

Offsetting in most software packages is a pain. I don't know why but I've found that you can offset just fine with B-Splines and Nurbs if you always send your offset outwards e.g. increase the radius. Then simply scale these two curves back down from a "top" view to match original curves condition.

It's easier for the software program to establish curves radiating out than in because there are no "Pinching" problems. As there is a difference between an offset curve vs. an scaled down curve I would consider trying the above before a standard scale. But there are simply times when things don't go the way ya planned.

This is also why you sometimes have a good fillet until you've specified too small a radius. Then it's gone!

The only packages that don't really care about this are CAD type packages.

Send Maya back and pick up AutoCAD. JJ

JB

Last edited by STZ : 24-03-2003 at 09:16 PM.
STZ is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.