Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-02-2003, 02:52 PM   #1
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default SNAP

Hi guys once again ! I'm having a problem in snaping!! I'm used to modeling in AutoCad and i can snap everything i want to help me obtain the most perfect effect! In Maya i'm having some problem with it and its slowing my work ! In the picture below i show you 2 specific situations:
1 - snaping the that corner of the surface to the polygon is easy but how can i make the inverse? Snap the surface point to the edge?

2- I need to split that surface at that point and -90º direction, how can i do it?

Sorry guys im used to do everything perfect in AutoCad and taking the first steps in Maya!!

Thx alot in advance
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2003, 04:06 PM   #2
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1) This is a thing I've wondered about for some time, and I assume you want accuracy.

There is no problem to snap to a curve/edge. You can try snapping via one axis (locked to an axis-up/down).

Select your object to move...
Right klick your targetobject, and go into vertice mode for that object...

Press "v" to snap to vertice, but MMB klick the "arrow", to start "axis lock", then simply drag your cursor over to a vertice on the target object... This will position your initial object to the same height as your target object.


You can also use the "intersect curve tool", to put "points" on edges, but I'm not sure if this is needed in your work. btw, you have to turn history OFF in order to work with this tool.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2003, 05:29 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

If you're trying to split, you have to make sure you are selecting edges of the same shape to split through... you can't split between different objects using the Split Polygon Tool.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2003, 08:16 PM   #4
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thx for your reply guys but concerning the split polygon tool, i know that i need to be in edge mode to use it , but the problem here is how can i split that edge at the point nere it! Dont forget that the point is from a diferent shape!

Thx
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2003, 08:21 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It's a little difficult to tell exactly what is going on in your scene. I don't suppose you can attach the .mb?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2003, 11:58 PM   #6
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok Mike here it goes! maybe after you seeing the file you can help me! Thx a lot Mike
Ill send you a pm with the pass!
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2003, 04:38 AM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I think one of the major hinderances in your scene is how it is all built with different pieces... You might want to think about a more efficient construction method.

Well, here's what I did, if I understand what you're trying to do correctly:
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2003, 01:42 PM   #8
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey thanks a lot Mike i think that tip will solve my problem and many others that would appear along my work!
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2003, 03:56 PM   #9
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok here one last doubt: i want to move that point at x axis to be align wit the second one becausei want the first point to belong to the face's plan (in red)! Ive tryed the to do that with the tips that you guys gave me but i must doing something rong
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2003, 04:20 PM   #10
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Select the point.

Hold V key for point snap.

Instead of dragging the central move handle, instead click and select the X direction arrow. Middle Mouse click and drag on the vertice you want to align with (marked 2).
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2003, 08:06 PM   #11
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok Mike thx a lot, i was draging on vertice with the LMB instead of the MMB
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.