Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-03-2003, 08:14 PM   #1
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default rendering objects w/ only shadows

hello everyone. I'm quite new to Maya but I wasn't too sure if i should have asked this in the newbie section. I'm pretty sure this was asked before. I have an object. Lets just say it's a cylinder. I want to be able to just render out the shadows of the cylinder and not the cylinder itself. Would anyone know how to go about doing this??? Remind you, I'm a beginner so if anyone could give me a hand or give me a link to a tutorial with the same situation. And if you say render in passes.. please explain.
Thanks,
Sonny
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 10:05 PM   #2
Efrens
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Poland
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try to use render passes (in Render Globals => Render Layers/Pass Control => Enable Global Passes) - you can render beauty pass, shadow, specular, diffuse etc.
Hope it helps
Efrens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 11:15 PM   #3
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

what about making the object cast shadows but not renderable itself?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 05:17 AM   #4
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how would i make the object cast shadows but not renderable itself.. (newbie here)
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 05:29 AM   #5
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok.. sorry for the second reply.. but I think... keyword is think i got the render global passes to work the correct way
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.