Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-03-2003, 03:41 PM   #1
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Displacement

You may find this question a bit silly, but I want to ask;

Do I have to have a high polycount model to use a displacement map?

Or is it possible to use it "straight" on a "simple" nurbs-surface or polygon mesh?
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2003, 04:00 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hey Undseth, discplacement will depend on the number of polys you are using. so yes, high poly count more detail.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2003, 04:21 PM   #3
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ah ok. Thats too bad. It's not easy getting a good displacement without having a really dense poly mesh.

Thanks roach!
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2003, 07:17 PM   #4
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I wouldn't underline this. Afaik displacement mainly depends on tessellation and displacement settings of the poly object. To get good results from a single poly plane you'd need to up these values quite a bit. Imho Maya's displacement implementation sucks. Slow as heck...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2003, 07:34 PM   #5
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Here's some proof

This is a single poly plane displaced with a fractal texture. The result isn't even what I expected... ewww...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2003, 07:55 PM   #6
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yay, I found out something!

After connecting the height field to the shader group (if I remember correctly), I check this setting in the objects attribute editor.

"Feature displacement"

This way, you can create a displacement on a single polygon. And the result is fantastic!

Ooops, seems like Kbrown already said so....

Btw, the manual "states" that the extra sample rate should be set lower than the initial sample rate.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.