Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-03-2003, 08:44 AM   #1
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking Animation question.Please answer.

Q1- I am working on an animation where cameras,mobile phones....etc (communication devices) fly all around in the scene.
In this animation I have a newspaper rolled up at the start and then it unrolls near the end.
I keyed the the 1st frame(rolled newspaper) then at the last frame I opened the newspaper and set the key. I was expecting Maya to do the inbetween opening part but the newspaper in the 1st frame changes as well to unrolled newspaper.
How do I do this???????? Please HELP me !!!!!
Normally if I have a small cube on the 1st frame and then I make it bigger in the last frame Maya creates the transition. In this case it is the same objet(newspaper) but I used the edit points to open the newspaper in the last frame.......but it does not open the newspaper. If I change one frame it changes all. I hope you understand my problem
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2003, 08:48 AM   #2
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I guess the answer to this problem will solve my other ones as well which is how do I make an object convert from opaque in one frame to transparent in another.
OR have a light turn on and off or change brightness
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2003, 11:56 AM   #3
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

My guess is that it's probably just a keying issue. If it were me, I would delete all keys made in the timeline, then rekey the newspaper making sure that you're at frame 1 when it's rolled and at the last frame when it's unrolled. Also, if you are just going to have these two key points, your newspaper whenn begin to unroll at frame two and will slowly unravel until the last frame. Are you sure you want it to be unrolling throughout the entire animation or do you want it to be rolled up for most of the animation, then near the end unrolls? If so, you need to key your newspaper in its "rolled" state near the end. You can easily do this by simply copying and pasting the frame 1 key. Hope that helps.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2003, 11:59 AM   #4
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Of and for your second question, transparency and the brightness of lights can also be keyed. Select a light and choose Window>Attribute Editor I think. Adjust the brightness, then right-click to the left of it and select "key frame."
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2003, 12:16 PM   #5
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Darkware...will try again when I get home.
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2003, 08:19 PM   #6
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It sound like you're trying to animate the actual vertices on your newspaper mesh, which you cannot do. One possibility is to use clusters to control the vertices. Another is using a bend deformer. Yet another is using blendshapes.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2003, 08:29 PM   #7
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

bend deformers
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2003, 08:33 PM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Maybe I'm missing something, but I'm able to key vertices...

I think what I would do in this situation is Blend Shapes with Inbetween.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2003, 10:00 PM   #9
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

You can animate vertices by keying them individually.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2003, 12:44 PM   #10
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes I can key vertices as well:-) I could not before when I posted this thread.......
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2003, 10:24 PM   #11
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Of and for your second question, transparency and the brightness of lights can also be keyed. Select a light and choose Window>Attribute Editor I think. Adjust the brightness, then right-click to the left of it and select "key frame."<<<<<



OK I did this and it works fine for increasing or decreasing the intensity of a fixed light source. I can't make it to work with a light that is moving or part of a group.
For example I have a mobile phone which is revolving with a LED. I want the LED to be off and then near the end of the phones rotation to light up. I can make the light turn on and off on it's own but not when it is changing it's position. Do I need to use set driven keys or something???
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2003, 10:36 PM   #12
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what the problem may have been, was that you were only keying the position. But if it turns out you can key vertices, then do that. However, unless you put in a lot of keys, it wont look right, so i sugest a bend deformer as others said.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2003, 10:51 PM   #13
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ultragames I am talking about the second part of the question. The vertices was the 1st part and that one is completely solved :-)
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2003, 10:54 PM   #14
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sry
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.