Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-03-2003, 10:19 AM   #1
Axel
Subscriber
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Thailand
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default convert to subd's

I am running Maya 4.0 Complete on an SGI (IRIX) and cannot find the "Convert to Subd" Menu although I set the modul "on" in the preferences.
Is subd not available for this version?
Is there any other way I can "simulate" the subd command (looking for scripts or plugins)
__________________
When the only tool you use is a hammer, every problem begins to look like a nail.
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2003, 10:28 AM   #2
Fusion
Registered User
 
Fusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hi

If i'm not mistaken,subdv's are only available in Maya unlimited.
Maya complete 4.5 is the version you are looking for coz it has just recently supported subdv's
Fusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2003, 10:46 AM   #3
Axel
Subscriber
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Thailand
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that's what I feared... SGI offers me a upgrade for 700$. I think that's fair.
I am going to try out the script "Connect Poly Shape v3.0" which I just found at http://www.highend3d.com/maya/mel/?section=modeling which should simulate subd's conversion. I hope it's what I am looking for.
THX for your help

PS: Maya 4.0 Users: Do you know of any other scripts or plugins?
__________________
When the only tool you use is a hammer, every problem begins to look like a nail.
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2003, 11:30 PM   #4
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

not sure of any others, but connect poly shape is very very good
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2003, 02:21 AM   #5
Axel
Subscriber
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Thailand
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, I tried it out now and it works great - should have done this before I ordered the upgrade to 4.5 complete...:-)
__________________
When the only tool you use is a hammer, every problem begins to look like a nail.
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.