Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-03-2003, 01:26 AM   #1
Axel
Subscriber
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Thailand
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya: Text format for animation?

To get "FreeCAD" emulated for Maya I was asked the following question from the programer:
"Does Maya have a text format for animation? I can program 'freeCAD' to
provide the simulated data in the particular format so that Maya will
produce physically realistic animation."

As I am not familiar with the programming for Maya I want to forward the question to the experts of you
__________________
When the only tool you use is a hammer, every problem begins to look like a nail.
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2003, 02:06 AM   #2
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Just my - 2 cents but... I think he's asking about BVH's There the text output of motion capture data.. Poser has a inport for them. And I think maya dose also the only problem is you have to tell maya what the channels are, and ware they conect. you also have to remove the Header data in BVH's so it dosn't get confused. Haven't attempted something like that though.

PLEASE corect me if I'm wrong.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2003, 08:54 AM   #3
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Not sure what you mean either here, sorry. Closest guess I can come up with is to save your file out as a .ma which is an ascii file that can be edited in any text processing app.

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Darkon For This Useful Post:
Axel (19-06-2013)
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.