Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-03-2003, 09:13 AM   #1
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Mouse Buttons

I will be getting a new mouse here very soon. The mouse I am getting has 8 buttons. Now, i know that Windows asigns actions to the buttons automaticaly.

So, lets say, the thumb button. What I want, is that the thumb button switches from one window to another, (Windows standard) but when in Maya, it serves as the 'Alt' button.

How may i set this up, inside maya, i possible.
Thanks in advance for any help and research.


BTW: The mouse is the new wireless Logitech MX700.
The model found here but wireless.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 02:19 AM   #2
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have the dual optical from Logitech (4 buttons seems more than enough to me)
Maya doesn't recognize the thumb button. Maybe there is a way that I haven't found out though.
__________________
<a href="http://www.d2lodshop.com" target="blank">D2lodshop</a>
<a href="http://www.gatcity.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3" target="blank">GAT City</a>
<a href="http://www.rhymbox.com" target="blank">XMPP instant messaging</a>
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 02:20 AM   #3
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, Ultragames, I want to get the same mouse very soon.... tell me how it handles maya and overall

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 02:40 AM   #4
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Emo: Went into Office Depot, and help the mouse for a min. The ergonomics are incredible!! As a right hander, it is the perfect mouse ergonomicaly. That, plus is its new large image sensor, and faster information transfer for gamers, i can't wait!!

Anyone know how we can get Maya to recognize extra buttons?
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 03:20 AM   #5
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah I've held the mouse before at office depot and it feels great!!!

about maya, well I dont know if that's gonna be possible...never know though

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 05:49 AM   #6
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Emo
and it feels great!!!
Sounds so wrong, but it is O' so right.


ROFL
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 05:53 AM   #7
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol o shut up.... i knew it was gonna get quoted the wrong way

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 08:21 AM   #8
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol. Sorry. I had to do that. I wouldn't expect any less if I posted that.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 10:48 PM   #9
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Originally posted by d24e
I have the dual optical from Logitech (4 buttons seems more than enough to me)
Maya doesn't recognize the thumb button. Maybe there is a way that I haven't found out though.
I (think I) have the same mouse. All I had to do was to intall logitech's own mouseware drivers and with those I can configure the thumb button to be whatever I like. Currently I have it as an Enter key...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 11:34 PM   #10
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Enter key. . . why?

Yeah. I know how to set up the buttons to do things. But I want them to be one thing when just in windows, and another thing when in maya.

Windows: Copy
Maya: Alt

Windows: Scroll Down
Maya: Repeat Last Function (g)

understand?
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2003, 08:08 AM   #11
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Kbrown, I installed those drivers a few windowinstalls ago. Then I was still using 3ds max and it didn't work the way I wanted.
Maybe I'll give it a try later for Maya.
__________________
<a href="http://www.d2lodshop.com" target="blank">D2lodshop</a>
<a href="http://www.gatcity.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3" target="blank">GAT City</a>
<a href="http://www.rhymbox.com" target="blank">XMPP instant messaging</a>
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2003, 12:22 PM   #12
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Ultragames
Enter key. . . why?
Well, it's just my preference. Quite many tools in maya needs pressing enter to complete the command. The enter key is too far to the right on the keyboard; My left hand is mostly on the left side of the keyboard and I'm too lazy to move it to the other side just to press enter :p
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2003, 12:34 PM   #13
mumbojumbo_13
Subscriber
 
mumbojumbo_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 1,047
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

ooh i want that mouse here i am like a sucker using both hands on the keyboard
__________________
Thanks for wasting your time reading this line.
mumbojumbo_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2003, 06:51 PM   #14
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mumbojumbo_13
ooh i want that mouse here i am like a sucker using both hands on the keyboard
oh cool i wish i could model only using the command prompt :p
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2003, 09:49 PM   #15
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

haha.

Hey, there is a program out there called POV Ray (i think) that uses only its own coding language to model. The only visuals you have, are the final render.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.