Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-03-2003, 04:40 PM   #1
creative_essential
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb Maya Me.

hi buddies... this is my first message here. Nice to cee u all guys.
I have switched over from max, one question i wanna ask is if any of u has past or present related to 3ds max kindly tell me how can i do the work of 'lattice modifier' which is in 3ds max, using maya 4.0.
kindly explore n maya me.
SaNdY
creative_essential is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2003, 07:02 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Animation Menu Set

Deform > Create Lattice.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2003, 12:30 AM   #3
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

welcome to SM creative_essential...

well after doing what mtmckinley said you right click the lattice and then you select points and then you move the point using the move tool.. (select and press the move tool hotkey [w])..
just a small quick tip...i guess you figured that out anyway..
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2003, 05:21 AM   #4
creative_essential
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hmmmm....

hi there buddies,
wot u discussed above is lattice function in maya, but in 3d s max
lattice give renderable out put like this i am attachin the images.May be thode will give you wot i want.
thanxx anyway.
SaNdY
creative_essential is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2003, 07:39 AM   #5
caligraphics
Registered User
 
caligraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 992
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Lattices in Maya is not renderable.. you have to model the above in Maya.

a few cylinders, and a few spheres should do the trick.
__________________
Carsten Lind
Senior 3D Artist,
Maya Software Manager & Maya Instructor
LEGO Systems A/S
caligraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2003, 10:17 AM   #6
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm not sure, but maybe a MEL script exists to quickly make that kind of shapes. Shouldn't be too hard I believe.
http://www.highend3d.com has a lot of scripts
__________________
<a href="http://www.d2lodshop.com" target="blank">D2lodshop</a>
<a href="http://www.gatcity.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3" target="blank">GAT City</a>
<a href="http://www.rhymbox.com" target="blank">XMPP instant messaging</a>
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2003, 04:42 PM   #7
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Actually, a mel does exist for this

It is called: Sticks and Balls, and can be found in the Goomoo Utilities mel script package on Highend

Good luck!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2003, 10:14 AM   #8
creative_essential
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hope s alive :)

hi there, thanxx buddies i think this will help.
SaNdY
creative_essential is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.