Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-03-2003, 10:41 PM   #1
Aphex
Registered User
 
Aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Strange error

only when trying to render my scene with mental ray (maya renders same scene okay) do i get a complete shutdown of maya followed by a series of errors locking up my computer for ages, one of the errors is 'windows is low on virtual memory changing size etc'
heres a pic of one of the others which all look the same-------
Aphex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2003, 10:59 PM   #2
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

have you tried re-installing Mental Ray?

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2003, 11:32 PM   #3
Aphex
Registered User
 
Aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, 'fraid so

mental works fine with other projects, it's just the one file 'a dodge viper' i made

and also for some reason with this file i get :

(Blue)
Warning: Render view: Selected region is too small //
(in the script editor)


i'm not too sure why, ive tried zooming in and out
Aphex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2003, 11:54 PM   #4
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it says selected region, that means it has nothing to do with your zooming in/out.... its' when you render the scene and the region you are selecting is too small... that is.. IF you are even selecting a region... are you?

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2003, 12:16 AM   #5
Aphex
Registered User
 
Aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no i've never had to do it before?

I just line up my shot in the persp camera, goto render view and render persp

i thought i only had to select a region for IPR renders?
Aphex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2003, 12:44 AM   #6
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no, i didnt say you have to select a region to render something...

by the error, I assume it's expecting you to select a region... (dont know why)... did you look into your MR render globals to see how its' set up? Make sure its' "deriving from maya" about resolution and all that


-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2003, 08:21 PM   #7
Aphex
Registered User
 
Aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thx Emo, i've just figured out why i think, i must of accidently drag clicked across the render view window and it must of saved it in the prefs.
Aphex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 12:25 PM   #8
braam
Subscriber
 
braam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I experienced the same problem (the first problem), but solved when I keep Sampling Quality/Min and Max Samples above 0. Or you can just choose production quality to avoid the problem.

Hope it will help you.

Cheers
Braam
__________________
We don't stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing.

www.wickedpixels.com/braam
braam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.