Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-04-2003, 02:54 PM   #1
Lord Shadow
Registered User
 
Lord Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Maya.env

I need to relocate the the save directory for the temporary files in Maya, and I know that I need to use a Maya.env file. But, what code do I need to use to relocate the temp files to something like C:\Mayatemp\ and what code do I need to put into the file to make Maya read the file from C:\Documents and Settings\(my profile)\?

-Thank you for your help.
__________________
-I swear it was like that when I got here-
Lord Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2003, 03:27 PM   #2
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When you are setting up a project, you can define where evrything will be saved...

you can choose the defult location or like you want, you can pick a place

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2003, 03:42 PM   #3
Lord Shadow
Registered User
 
Lord Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, the problem is that every time I open the attribute editor box, I get an error about being unable to save the temp file, and I need to fix this.
__________________
-I swear it was like that when I got here-
Lord Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 10:23 PM   #4
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Open up the Maya help files and look for information on the Maya.env file. There are some variable settings you can change to fix it. I can't remember what it specifically is at the moment.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.