Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-04-2003, 12:15 AM   #1
iemonslice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default help installin GIJoe plugin.

I added the gijoe shelf icon and when i click it, i get the gijoe window. but when i hit create, i get this error message:// Error: File not found.: Crogram FilesAliasWavefrontMaya4.5scriptsGIJoe.lights //

But in that directory, the GIJoe.lights file is there. Please help, thanks.
iemonslice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 12:27 AM   #2
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

common prob.. instead of using the "\" slash you should use the "/" slash.. so it would be:

C:/Program Files/AliasWavefront/Maya/4.5/scripts/GIJoe.lights

if it still does not work, use doubled forward slashes "\\"

C:\\Program Files\\AliasWavefront\\Maya\\4.5\\scripts\\GIJoe.l ights

hope it helps,
Tariq
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 12:30 AM   #3
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tariqrf
common prob.. instead of using the "\" slash you should use the "/" slash.. so it would be:

C:/Program Files/AliasWavefront/Maya/4.5/scripts/GIJoe.lights

why?? this / is only for the www and not windows... you have to use the \\ to get it working

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 12:39 AM   #4
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

i use "/" and it works,, trust me,, check it out.

and btw, \ is used i think for commenting lines in a script so they are not allowed to be used as file pointing commands.. just a hint
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 12:59 AM   #5
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I having the EXACT same problem.

Here's the thread i've been using: http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...&threadid=4426

KBrown explanes the double \\ thing. I tried it and it dosent work. And even if it did, you guys dont have to alter the script just to get it to work do you?

Tariqrf: When you click Go Create when happens?
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....

Last edited by doodle : 07-04-2003 at 01:03 AM.
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 01:19 AM   #6
alexgc
Subscriber
 
alexgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if u cant get it to work that way u can always source the script instead. Open the script editor...goto file>source script. When the window opens...go to where u placed the GI_Joe script, select it and click on Open...it should now work
alexgc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 01:52 AM   #7
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

you have to alter it a bit.. goto http://www.3dluvr.com/pixho/

.:Edit

copy and paste from the site:

- Installation:

- Unzip the GI_joe.zip and copy the mel and the scene file (GIJoe.lights) into your script directory.
Copy the GIJoe_icon.bmp into the 'icons' directory of the install directory of Maya (i.e.: drive:\AW\extras\icons)

- If I get better day after day with Mel, I assure you I'm still the same worm in maths, so you still have to edit (with any good text editor (UltraEdit or Textpad) the mel script and search the string 'your_script_directory_path/GIJoe.lights' (located in line 57)
Replace the existing path by your own script path (ex: d:/Maya/scripts/GIJoe.lights)

- Start a Maya session, and open the script editor, then type source GI_Joe. Press [enter]
Retype GI_Joe and press [enter] to execute the script.
You can then drag the GI_Joe into your shelf and select the GIJoe_icon as shelf icon.
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:

Last edited by tariqrf : 07-04-2003 at 02:08 AM.
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 02:12 AM   #8
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

after i click go create.. the GI Joe window opens and the lights are created.. thats all... and btw, you only have to alter the script for the directories.. nothing else..

and again: use "/" not "\"
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 02:43 AM   #9
iemonslice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Awesome, the / worked. Thanks for the help.
iemonslice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 02:49 AM   #10
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

i told you... glad to be of some help
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 02:50 AM   #11
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tariqrf
and btw, \ is used i think for commenting lines in a script so they are not allowed to be used as file pointing commands.. just a hint
yes, you are right about that... but I think it's still only in DOS... when you are typing a commend like blahblah \y and so on

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 02:56 AM   #12
alexgc
Subscriber
 
alexgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no u r right...its the same with Java too, except that its '\\'
alexgc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 03:00 AM   #13
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tariqrf: I've done all of the installation when i first got it.

I've tried \, \\, /, //. Nothing seems to work

alexgc: I tried the Scouce Script too and got the following message:

// Error: FOR4 //
// Error: Syntax error //

I tried everyones suggestion and none of them work...
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....

Last edited by doodle : 07-04-2003 at 03:07 AM.
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 03:06 AM   #14
alexgc
Subscriber
 
alexgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok Z1mmnd14 tell me how u installed the script.

1.Did u make the adjustment to line 57 (or whatever it is) and only that line?

2.Did u install the script into the correct place as u made clear in the script ammendment?

3.Did u place the GI_Joe.lights file in the same directory as the GI_Joe script?
alexgc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 03:08 AM   #15
alexgc
Subscriber
 
alexgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

btw that syntax error u have means that something in ur script doesnt make sense which leads me to believe somewhere along the line u made a mistake

Open the script in notepad and search for the word "For4"...when u find it delete the number 4...It shouldnt be there

Last edited by alexgc : 07-04-2003 at 03:12 AM.
alexgc is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.