Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-04-2003, 08:19 AM   #1
PilotLtKettch
Registered User
 
PilotLtKettch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default T. rex texturing help!

ok, then, just the other day I finished doing the uv mapping on my t. rex in Maya and I decided to start on the bump map, but now that I'm at this point, I really don't know what to do. I've tried working with it in the Deep Paint 3d demo, but with no good results. Does anybody know a good way to do a realistic bump map?
here's a picture of my untextured rex http://pilotltkettch.20megsfree.com/images/rexnotex.jpg
and here's a shot of what I'd like it to look like when I'm done http://pilotltkettch.20megsfree.com/images/pdvd_113.jpg
any help would be greatly appreciated
PilotLtKettch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 08:36 AM   #2
caligraphics
Registered User
 
caligraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 992
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would use either photoshop or the built in 3D paint in Maya

Good luck
__________________
Carsten Lind
Senior 3D Artist,
Maya Software Manager & Maya Instructor
LEGO Systems A/S
caligraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 03:39 PM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Also, I keep getting an "upgrade your account" image error when I try to view your images.

If you could just ad them to your next post, rather than linking to them, that would work a bit better for ya I think

Don't worry, SM has PLENTY of space for your posted images

Can't wait to see that second image of how you want it to look...
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 03:49 PM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Ok, just saw it... weird that a moment ago, I was getting an error...

Anyhoo, you'd probably be better off modeling the larger "tendon/bumpy" areas, in combination with what caligraphics said.

Just my 2 cents
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 06:02 AM   #5
PilotLtKettch
Registered User
 
PilotLtKettch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for your help, I hope to have pictures of my progress soon
PilotLtKettch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 07:11 AM   #6
PilotLtKettch
Registered User
 
PilotLtKettch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

and here's the update, tell me what you think, of this section, and how it can be improved
PilotLtKettch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 03:23 PM   #7
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

WOW! Is that modeled? or is that a bump?

Either way, it looks GREAT so far to me!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 10:10 PM   #8
PilotLtKettch
Registered User
 
PilotLtKettch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've now been texturing other areas, but I'm finding the resolution isn't large enough, I'm at 4k, but if I try anything higher Maya won't render and says Free memory exception thrown, is there a resolution limit? would it be best if I devided the image into 4 or more parts and put them together in Maya?
PilotLtKettch is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.