Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-04-2003, 08:07 PM   #1
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya directory help -->

Hope someone can work this out.

I save all my Maya work in the following path: C:\Documents and Settings\chris\My Documents\maya. There I have the folders 4.0, projects, scripts, and the files mayaRenderLog.txt and mayaLog.

For some reason Maya has automatically created the path: C:\Documents and Settings\chris\maya. It has all the same folders as the above, but I don’t save the projects here, but Maya saves all shelves in this part [4.0\prefs\shelves].

I moved all the shelves to the 4.0\prefs\shelves section that I save my project in, reloaded them and deleted Maya directory C:\Documents and Settings\chris\maya., but when I load up Maya again, it reappears, with the shelves now in both directories.

So what I want is save all Maya projects, shelves and MEL’s in C:\Documents and Settings\chris\My Documents\maya. I want that to be the main directory and not like it was before: projects in C:\Documents and Settings\chris\My Documents\maya. and shelves and MEL’s in C:\Documents and Settings\chris\maya.. I need to permanently delete that directory…I don’t need it.


I know this may sound confusing so just ask if you want me to explain something better

Help is very appreciated
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 09:23 PM   #2
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

im not sure how you can fix it, but did you change OS or sumthing for that to happen?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 10:32 PM   #3
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No. It been like that since i first installed Maya [i'm on XP Home]. I dont know if that directory is suppost to be there.

Nem [any anyother PC users], a few questions:

1. Are your maya project in your My Documents folder under the folder maya.

2. Are all your shelves and MEL's also in that folder.

3. Can you check the to see if you have a folder named maya in the following path: C:\Documents and Settings\your_user-name

Thanks
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 10:33 PM   #4
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'm not sure if you can delete the directory. Maya allows you to have multiple versions installed on the same machine (3.0, 4.0, 4.5, etc.), and it stores shelves and preferences specific to each version in their own directories.

You might consider looking up information in the help files on environmental variables to see if you can change default locations of these directories.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 11:47 PM   #5
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

1. if ur running xp then that is the directory everythings stored in, so yes
2. yep shelves are there maya\4.0\prefs\shelves
3. yes that folder is there, but not under that name (because i dont use XP) but it shud be there, thats the default maya fodler that the program creates when u install it
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 11:58 PM   #6
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, thats weird cos my project are saved in the My Documents folder and all shelves and MELs and in the [what you called] the 'defult maya folder'.

I just re-installed maya to see what happened and it's still the same. I guess it dosen't matter that much, it's dosent really harm maya i think. The reason why i asked was because i was wondering if that has anything to do with why i can load the GI_Joe MEL

Thanks for your help
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....

Last edited by doodle : 13-04-2003 at 12:38 AM.
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2003, 02:21 AM   #7
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

yes it would affect ur installation of MEL scripts actually cos the scripts wud go in a different folder
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2003, 02:58 AM   #8
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Accually it wont cos i just perfectly installed two MELs [CPS and creatTube]

Here the link i was posting info about my GI_Joe problem. It has a step-by-step on how i installed it.....take alook at see if i'm doing somthing wrong.......

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...6&pagenumber=2
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.