Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-04-2003, 11:25 PM   #1
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ALpha CHannel help..

Is there a way to make maya render the image with no background? ive rendered fire for a picture but the glow is giving me a problem getting rif of the black or green backgrounds that ive used. anyone know a way to do this? Is there a way i can save the file to make it so?
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2003, 06:30 AM   #2
creaminds
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmmmmm let me think



Before render check the option in render globals :Render alpha Chanel

When your render view apears, and the image it's render try saving the image as Tif because not all files can save the alpha channel.

Import the Tif in Adobe Photoshop and after that, go to Chanels Folder, and control click the Alpha chanel, than with your right mouse btn on the layers folder on the image layer select layer via copy and .........

Voila !
You get the whole image rendered butwith out the black background


It's tough to think but fo helping others ......



creaminds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2003, 06:38 AM   #3
creaminds
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmmmmm let me think



Before render check the option in render globals :Render alpha Chanel

When your render view apears, and the image it's render try saving the image as Tif because not all files can save the alpha channel.

Import the Tif in Adobe Photoshop and after that, go to Chanels Folder, and control click the Alpha chanel, than with your right mouse btn on the layers folder on the image layer select layer via copy and .........

Voila !
You get the whole image rendered butwith out the black background


It's tough to think but fo helping others ......



creaminds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2003, 07:16 AM   #4
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

GREAT Creaminds...
Thanks for your help.....
Works like a charm.......
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.