Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-04-2003, 09:12 PM   #1
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Animation: Stuntplane

Hi guys, been a while since I last posted (uni Assignments and all!) but here's the latest WIP (Also a uni assignment!)

I'm creating an animation of toy aeroplanes that are gonna be in a small aerobatics display (Think red arrows but with bi-planes). There's gonna be very little in the way of keyframed animation it's all gonna be done by taking data from a flocking system I have written and then using MEL to bring in that data, this is all complete so I am now working on the model (I would post the animation but I cant get premier to export it properly sorry!)

So here is the first model of the biplane I want to use (I think it's still a little poly heavy at the moment but I will work on that) I've been working on this for about 3 hours.

Comments and crits are most welcome

Alan

Here's the unsmoothed version
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB

Last edited by Alan : 14-04-2003 at 09:34 PM.
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2003, 09:14 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

subdivd
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2003, 12:08 AM   #3
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

i almost like the unsmoothed better.... just if the body was a little more smoothed. but didnt smooth the wings AS much

looks nice

*note* stunt biplanes have 2 rungs on the top with a strap so the pilot or someone can stand up there and not fall
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2003, 12:23 AM   #4
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I'd love to see the animation, and hear more about HOW you are animating it that sounds really cool. Um you should be able to export the video to a HIGH compression divx, and then ZIP it and post it here. Thats what i do. Most of the people on simply maya already have divx anyway = )
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
Vectorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2003, 12:54 AM   #5
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

*note* stunt biplanes have 2 rungs on the top with a strap so the pilot or someone can stand up there and not fall
lol that's for wingwalking I think! lol that would be funny if I could get that in there!!

Vectorman: I have written a flocking system in c++ (to find out more about flocking go to: Craig Reynolds Page

Basically this will spit out a text file of x,y,z translations and x,y,z rotations. I then load this text file into maya (Via MEL) and traverse through it and set up instances of geometry that pick up the positions and rotations and set keyframes for them it's as "simple" as that! The MEL to do the initial loading up of the file is easy(ish) but getting MEL to set up the shaders etc for the smoke trails that the planes leave has been a pain in the butt! You cant imagine how long it took to get maya to set up a "grayscale ramp" using MEL it's two button clicks using the GUI but scripting it was a whole other story!

When I'm finished I mite post the script and the data files (or even write a tute! ) so people can see how it was done. I've got loads to do but it's coming along nicely!

Thanks for the feedback keep it coming guys!

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2003, 04:54 PM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

ok here's the update:

I shortened the plane length and I have added in most of the other details. I'm trying to keep the model as light as poss (in terms of geometry) so I can have loads of them flying around. I will post a test render of the animation later tonite once I get home
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2003, 12:41 AM   #7
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

ok here is an avi of the animation, it's really dark cause there were no lights apart from the default light and it's also really "busy" (you'll see what I mean)

It's still in the preliminary stages but I'd really like some feedback.

Cheers
Alan

Ps Is the video ok for everyone else? I'm getting really jerky playback for some reason!

http://www.alanwoods.co.uk/files/geometryTest.zip
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2003, 09:29 AM   #8
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

hey how long was the render time? If it was pretty low, then you should try a GI scene = ) Really cool, i really wanna get a flocking script and learn how to use it.
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
Vectorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2003, 11:46 AM   #9
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Rendering time with GI isnt too bad i think. I will do a render now with it on and see how it looks. I'll post it here later on today.


Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2003, 02:41 PM   #10
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

lol I could be wrong! 2 1/2 hours later my render has done 127 frames!! Lol and it's only at 320 x 240.

Oh i just checked out what it had rendered and it looked rubbish!! I'l have to re-start the render!
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 02:45 AM   #11
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

here is the latest render, I'm getting really frustrated with this damn thing! It's really hard to get the planes to fly in a "realistic" manner. Lots of planes that flip for no reason! damn vector maths!

Anyways got bored so here is a render with some gratuitous motion blur!
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 02:49 AM   #12
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Looking good mate..... The test play nice an smooth for me....
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 10:24 AM   #13
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

playback is nice and smooth, hey just delete the GI and use a few more lights. Then we could actually see the planes. How long does it take to render without the GI? if short give us a higher res (Compressed of course)
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
Vectorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 12:45 PM   #14
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Render times are starting to skyrocket a bit cause of the particle's being made to collide with the planes so that the planes will disturb each other's smoke trails. BUt I will try and get another one done for today

__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 04:09 PM   #15
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I've started to texture it whilst I am waiting for the render to get on with it.

What do you guys think?

Also when I subdivide it the uvs seem to get all messed up, the staight lines appear to have "waves" in them. Any ideas? I'm Very new to sub divs
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
apache WIP andrew_sorensen Work In Progress 9 23-12-2010 10:22 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.