Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-04-2003, 06:00 PM   #1
the_postal_dude
Registered User
 
the_postal_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: noord_holland
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default the jaw problem (nurbs)

hello , i have a problem , i am a noob , and i need some help..



http://www.boomspeed.com/nanren/jaw.jpg

as you can see this is a jaw , it looks very thin , and fragile , it looks breakable , not really realistic and natural..
I wanted to make it look thicker , which technic or way is the best to make it look thicker....

thanks for helping me out..:banana:
__________________
RWS
the_postal_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2003, 06:11 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

when making anything, it will, for the most part, simply be a shell of geometry. For my Toon guy (my avatar) his skin is paper thin as well, but by adjusting the surface and creating the lip which turn into the mouth, it simulates having thickness... hope that makes sense.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 05:42 PM   #3
the_postal_dude
Registered User
 
the_postal_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: noord_holland
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am a really dumb person , i do not understand , please explain it again ... sorry for the trouble..
__________________
RWS
the_postal_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 08:35 PM   #4
M
Subscriber
 
M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Hes saying, if you model a box.. its going to be hollow, as there are 6 polygons. Lets just say you put another box above that... it technically now has thickness. So if you modelled a cylinder and chopped off the top, it would look quite thin.. if you extruded inwards and made a barrel.. you would have thickness to your object . So if you took your geometry there, and duplicated it. and then scaled it bigger or smaller, you could then join the edges and have a (thick) jaw .. hope that makes sence. BTW, do you have an alienware computer... or if not, which skin are you using for windows? Thanks . If you still dont understand.. then let me know and i will make you some images to explain ok?
__________________
"I should call you sugar maple tree cause i'd totally tap that" haha

email - mattwettstein@gmail.com
M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 09:50 PM   #5
the_postal_dude
Registered User
 
the_postal_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: noord_holland
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ooh Now i understand , yeah !! hooah!

Thanx for spending time on me , i now go to work this out , you will soon see the result.

Yes I have a alienware computer , i downloaded that skin to suit my pc , it looks more suitebale instead of the standard XP teletubby landscape desktop....
__________________
RWS
the_postal_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2003, 09:05 AM   #6
M
Subscriber
 
M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Hehehh, i agree postal . Just i dont have an alienware skin.. i have more of just a technical dark theme.. similar to yours.. i prefered yours though. Anyways, hows the alienware machine workin out for ya?
__________________
"I should call you sugar maple tree cause i'd totally tap that" haha

email - mattwettstein@gmail.com
M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2003, 01:28 AM   #7
the_postal_dude
Registered User
 
the_postal_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: noord_holland
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi again M , i really hate the teletubby landscape desktop from bill , its annoying it gives me a immature feeling..
The alienmachine? haven't seen any problems with the framerates , thank god ..
But the sad thing is , i think i can't play doom 3 , cuz my 9000 ati radeon card isn't powerfull enough to produce 30 f/s.

ok i go back to work now , see you :banana:
__________________
RWS
the_postal_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.