Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-04-2003, 01:20 PM   #1
atlantica
Registered User
 
atlantica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Fake GI in standard Maya render

Hi guys, I am new to Maya and also 3d.
I am working on a water-lily scene using about 70 spotlights to create a light dome. Problem is with the render....shadow grids on the petals....can anybody help how can I remove them? Where can be the problem?

Here is a bigger image http://simko.host.sk/waterlily.jpg
Look at the even shadow structure at the petals. Also bump map was painted by hand in Photoshop and does not have such an even structure.

Last edited by atlantica : 30-04-2003 at 01:48 PM.
atlantica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2003, 01:39 PM   #2
strarup
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi atlantica,

it looks great...

however I'm a newbie and unfortunately can't answer your question at the moment...

but have you tried G.I.Joe to render with?
http://www.3dluvr.com/pixho/toolbox/...I_Joe_doc.html

I don't know if that will solve your problem... since I don't know that much about the rendering or light process yet...

regards

Strarup
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Alex V. U. Strarup

One mistake can ruin it all...
strarup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2003, 01:42 PM   #3
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I'm not quite getting what "shadow grids" you're talking about from the attached image.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2003, 02:36 PM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

might wanna increase the samples of each light from 128 to say 256. (if you are using GIJoe)

If you are using MR, then not sure...
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2003, 03:11 PM   #5
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Rage, he's using the standard renderer. I didn't check out the larger image when I posted earlier so missed the grids.

Atlantica, what type of shadows are you using? Raytraced or depth map? Have you played with any of the attributes?

If you're using depth map shadows (which is what GI_Joe uses), try cranking the dmap resolution up for sharp shadows (1024). If you want softer shadows use a smaller Dmap like 128 or 256 and increase the dmap filter to 2 or 3. With so many lights, I would stick with the smaller resolution and increased filter otherwise you're computer will get bogged.

If you're raytracing and want a soft shadow, adjust the light radius and increase the shadowrays a bit...maybe start with 7 and go up or down from there. Be aware that increasing light rays will increase your render time.

Let us know if you get the problem solved.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq : 30-04-2003 at 03:28 PM.
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2003, 05:55 PM   #6
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Oh.. sry my bad Thanks!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2003, 06:35 PM   #7
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

your spotlights
open up the attribute editor and im sure that if u have shadows in ur scene u wud either have depth map shadows or raytraced shadows on
under the depth map shadow options, u just need to increase the dmap filter size
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2003, 10:46 AM   #8
caligraphics
Registered User
 
caligraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 992
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you are using CPS for the modeling, you should be aware that the BASE mesh has the Recieve shadows in the renders settings set to on. Turn this off and you will get the right result..

If you are not using CPS, then I have no idea..
__________________
Carsten Lind
Senior 3D Artist,
Maya Software Manager & Maya Instructor
LEGO Systems A/S
caligraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
Fake or Foto honestdom Members Lounge 34 11-12-2010 08:35 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.