Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-05-2003, 02:29 PM   #1
Jim
Registered User
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default MR integration with Maya 5????/

Hi,

Just wondering (in real terms) how much is MR now integrated into Maya 5 (for users of Maya 5 if possible)?

Is the IPR now functioning with MR?

Rendering Z buffer?

I heard that SubD's are now supported!!!!!

re Jim
__________________
Mayan elder......only in years.....
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2003, 09:30 PM   #2
korben
Registered User
 
korben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

subds supported ... must be quads though...

particles works.... no glow though but it can be done i mr with a contour shader ..

seems like AW works pretty hard on mental ray in maya5... it's just a start. It will be better in future release i think...

sorry for my bad English.....

Last edited by korben : 09-05-2003 at 09:33 PM.
korben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 11:30 AM   #3
Tolerate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Taunton, UK
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it is gonna be quite some time before it is as intergrated as much as XSI is
Tolerate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2003, 08:11 PM   #4
mind_raper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Most of all

well most of all maya 5 users will be the first to test /work with mental Ray 3.2.

good news ,,,,,,

looks like mental images is interseted to work wid alias...


__________________
Learn the Rules|Then|
Burn the Rules Book
mind_raper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2003, 04:05 AM   #5
polygon9000
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Did test it and its at least 10 times faster than the one from 4.5.
not to mention relatively bug free.Its given a whole new dimension to Maya 5.If you use this one, i guarantee that you are not going back to 4.5, come what may :-)
polygon9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2003, 02:01 PM   #6
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Its pretty quick on Maya 5, but I am having major issues with Sub d's they keep on not showing up when I render. Grrr... Now that most of my stuff is Sub d's. and now they don't render! At least not everything does. THanks,
Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2003, 04:10 PM   #7
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

brian, i read that the subd has to be 100% quads to render the subd.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2003, 04:31 PM   #8
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

thats really a bummer..... when working in the low poly mode, sometimes you want to add detail to a certain area for muscles and stuff, but you don't nessarily want to follow the line thru the enitre model, so that you won't have unnessary Polys b4 you convert to subd's. Kinda sucks, but oh well, in those cases there is allways GI_Joe
Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.