Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-05-2003, 05:18 AM   #1
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default bump map texturing problems

Ok.. dont' know what's going on but wondering if you guys could help me out. I've done a couple of tutorials and i'm pretty sure i'm applying the bump map the correct way. Hopefully i can explain this clearly.

i've modeled the bamboo base of a tiki torch. It's a subD object. I've converted it over to polygon mode and applied an (editpolygon>texture>planar mapping). I made a map and it looks perfectly fine on my subD object. I've played with the same map in photoshop and used it as a bump map. When i applied the bump map, there's something seriously wrong? I've uploaded the images of before and after, and also my bump map and color map. Does anyone have any suggestions or another way or going about it?????

Last edited by strytus : 19-05-2003 at 05:20 AM.
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2003, 05:33 AM   #2
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default here's the image

sorry.. lemme try uploading this again.. i'm always having problems with this part
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2003, 11:23 PM   #3
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah... tried it too, but it seems that bump mapping does not work with sub-d... i guess you need to convert to poly dude....
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2003, 03:33 AM   #4
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if i convert it to polys and do everything ok.. then convert it back again to a subD object, do you think that might work???? Or do you think i should just go high-poly and don't bother about converting it over to subD. I've tried the first method. Any other suggestions????
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2003, 03:51 AM   #5
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Just curious, if it's a subd object, why even bother convert to poly? Just map the subd object. The general rule is that you should be texturing when the final object is completely modeled so I would think converting textured objects back and forth is going to throw something off, in this case, maybe it's the bump map. That being said, I would try either converting it to poly and doing all the mapping to that...or just map it all as subd. Try it and see if you get the same problems.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq : 20-05-2003 at 03:56 AM.
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2003, 01:20 AM   #6
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the tip. still learning how to texture in maya. but i'll try it out in a day or two and get back to you. been really busy lately.

it's completely model, but i thought like the general rule was to model in polys and subDs. Texture in poly and then convert to subDs for rendering? right or wrong???
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2003, 06:33 PM   #7
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

why convert to sub-d for rendering? I dont get it? Just render in poly... (after smooth)... ?
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 02:44 AM   #8
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok i'm still fairly new to texturing in maya. But does does ever happen to you? After applying a texture, the object in your viewport go kind of like invisible... or like that Xray mode look a like?? Do you get that? (still a Max user at heart)
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 02:47 AM   #9
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmm.... have you pressed "6" on ya keyboard for hardware texturing?? Otherwise, im not quite sure what you mean about the invisible thingy....
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 02:58 AM   #10
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default for example

here's the invisibleness
Attached Thumbnails
 
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 02:59 AM   #11
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh yeah.. thanks for all your help too.. i really appreciate it
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 03:01 AM   #12
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im not sure. Could you try an upload your file... then i'll have a look at it...
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 03:20 AM   #13
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks

here it is. I swear i gotta be doing something wrong. Thanks a lot
Attached Files
File Type: mb jungle03.mb (361.7 KB, 12 views)
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 03:29 AM   #14
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool model strytus...

I dont see anything wrong with the model.. still you havent apllied your bambus texture in this file... culd it be the texture that have a problem ??
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 04:22 AM   #15
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ahhh ok... strytus are texturing in sub-d only... maybe someone can help him out... how do you for instance apply uv's and add a planar projection ?

Problem was, that he textured the proxy instead of the actual model... how to go around this ?
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Challenge -Jerry Can Texturing honestdom Battle Arena 77 03-12-2010 01:20 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.