Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-05-2003, 02:17 PM   #1
megaton
Registered User
 
megaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Positioning reference images in viewports (Image Planes)

Is there an easy way to align / position / size reference images displayed in the viewport?

The documentation states that Image Planes should be used for displaying reference images as backgrounds - but I can't seem to find a way to position these easily.

In the positioning attribute of the Image Plane you can adjust the X,Y,Z and the Width and Height of the loaded image, but its very difficult positioning the image plane correctly in the viewport by entering these values manually.

I was using XSI before, and using the Rotoscopy function I could display an image in the viewport and use the usual translate tools to position the image, and then 'lock' the viewport so scaling of the grid would be locked to the image scaling.

Is there a way to do something similar with Maya?
megaton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to megaton For This Useful Post:
Old 22-05-2003, 02:38 PM   #2
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

first - you could prepare the images beforehand as best as possible. so that they are already in the same scale - so you dont need to stretch the image. then it is probably a good idea to mark the exact middle in the picture. that makes the aligning in maya a lot easier.

if you dont want to mess with the numbers - you can use a simple trick. maybe not as elegant as xsi. but you go to the image plane - say "atached to camera" and use the regular pan of the camera - til the cross (if you added it to the image before) align up with the origin. the problem now is that if you switch back to "fixed" the image plane will jump back to the origin. but here comes the workaround. you say fixed anyway, but leave the camera in the position it was and load 2 attribute editors (e.g. with copy tab) - and you copy and paste the translate x and translate z (for the top view) to the center of the image plane. and then you can move the cam again - and the image plane is still in place.

hope that helps

Last edited by BabyDuck : 22-05-2003 at 02:40 PM.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BabyDuck For This Useful Post:
Old 22-05-2003, 02:42 PM   #3
megaton
Registered User
 
megaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Ahh, thanks. I was trying to move it while attached to the camera and then it jumped back when switching back to fixed. I'll try your workaround next =).
megaton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to megaton For This Useful Post:
Old 27-05-2003, 12:42 PM   #4
megaton
Registered User
 
megaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Move / Scale Image plane with the mouse

Just thought I'd share another way to move / scale the image planes.

After you create the Imageplane
- Select it (View->Image Plane->Image Plane Attributes).
- Open the Channel Box if its not displayed.

Now you can change the the following attributes:

Center X, Center Y, Center Z - Position of the Image plane in the viewport
Width, Height - Scaling of the Image Plane

To adjust these values with the mouse, click on an attribute name to hilight it, and then drag with your Middle Mouse button inside the viewport.

You have to adjust each value seperately (X, Y, Z), but its easier than editing the values by hand.
megaton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to megaton For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 07:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 10:30 AM
Mec Celeste - Original SM Gallery Image by Diego Ruiz Diaz Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 22-12-2010 05:58 AM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM
New Feature: Multiple Image Upload David Members Lounge 0 30-11-2010 09:40 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.