Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-06-2003, 06:35 PM   #1
sdch1000
Subscriber
 
sdch1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Miami, FL. USA
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Quadro FX 500

For about the same amount of money I can get either a Quadro FX 500 or a Quadro4 750 XGL. Does anyone have an opinion on which card is better for use with Maya 5?

AMD 2100
1GB DDR Ram
Windows XP pro.
sdch1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 07:09 PM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I would go with the Quadro FX 500.

Quadro FX 500 facts here: http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/video/d...327152431.html

Quadro4 750 XGL facts here: http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/other/d.../news6236.html
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com

Last edited by Darkware : 11-06-2003 at 07:12 PM.
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 11:17 PM   #3
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i would strongly recommend the XGL750
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 09:50 PM   #4
sdch1000
Subscriber
 
sdch1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Miami, FL. USA
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, we got one point for each side. Anyone want to tip the scale?
__________________
Steven C.
sdch1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2003, 07:10 PM   #5
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Well, I just browsed through the info I found and decided that the 500 sounded better. I don't know why I even gave my opinion on this because I really don't know all that much about graphic cards. If Nem strongly suggests the 750, go with it.

I've looked at the statistics for both and can't really make heads or tales of it all. One of the things that made me think the 500 FX would be better was that it came out a year after the 750 XGL, so it's newer. Hell I don't know. We need more opinions for this dude.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2003, 07:15 PM   #6
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Ok, I use the Quadro FX 2000 and don't have one single issue with it. The Quadro line is very impressive. Using Maya I previous had a Radeon 8700 and a bunch of Problems. The main problem was using any type of brush tool The graphics card would not refresh quick enough and leave really bad traces on the screen. Like I said the Qudro are all awesome. FX has not give any trouble at all.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2003, 12:20 PM   #7
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Darkware
If Nem strongly suggests the 750, go with it.
aw ur so nice man a lot of people tend to forget about the XGL750 when deciding because it seems dated, but it is still a very good card, i believe the FX has dx9 support, but not many games or applications supports dx9 yet, the 750 is much more established

but all thats just my opinion of course
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2003, 09:15 PM   #8
splintah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: vienna - austria
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default am i dumb or do you guys know NOTHING about hardware

dude FX is a completely new series

FX is way better than the old

ever heard of hardware rendering with the new fx series ?
i just say 20 times faster !!!

the fx 500 gpu is just a slower clocked version of the 1000 and 2000 fx

ok you donīt have dual DVI - big deal
and you donīt have DDR2 - radeon is faster with ddr1 than geforce with ddr2 - the new geforce even switched to ddr1

overclock that baby (probably add a watercooling for the gpu) and you have a fast little baby

--> you would be a fool to buy the old one
splintah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2003, 09:36 PM   #9
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I have a quadro 900, works dreams well, it works well with the stuff that I make and that says alot because now when I sit down I know I am not limited by the amount of faces I have in a scene because My card can handle it... At least so far:bgreen:

Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2003, 10:07 PM   #10
splintah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: vienna - austria
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah shure

quadro 900 is fine
they are all fine

but what i want to say is that

FX is a new era
HARDWARE RENDERING is ONLY possible with FX
there a a couple of things the new FX series can do and the old canīt

fx500 is fine because it has the lowes clock of all fx chips
so you can overclock it nice and easy

--> fx is ALWAYS WAY better than the old ones
splintah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2003, 10:26 PM   #11
sdch1000
Subscriber
 
sdch1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Miami, FL. USA
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I see what you mean splintah, aside from the speeds between the 2 cards, I think the new hardware rendering is the deciding factor why I'll get the 500FX. From what I've read on AW, in some cases you can't tell the difference between hardware or software rendering.
__________________
Steven C.
sdch1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2003, 11:54 PM   #12
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well i still stand by the 750, ive used one for ages and it has not let me down, rock solid card, very cheap as well
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2003, 01:52 PM   #13
splintah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: vienna - austria
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

difference between software and hardware rendering

yeah thats possible
but its still 20 times faster

i also wouldnīt buy a fx if i had a quadro750

but if i buy a new one then a quadro fx 500 and overclock it
splintah is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŪ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.